RTG 1493 Mathematical Structures in Modern Quantum Physics

General Information about the RTG

Modern mathematics is greatly influenced and stimulated by the quest for understanding the physics of space, time and matter at the quantum level. The theoretical treatment of the phenomena observed in that regime requires novel concepts and methods from several branches of mathematics, ranging from new approaches to geometry and topology through innovative techniques in the analysis of infinite systems up to the theory of invariants of operator algebras and category theory. Progress in these areas is important to formulate and apply the ultimate natural laws that govern fundamental physical processes ranging from the genesis of particles in modern accelerators to the formation and development of our universe.

This interdisciplinary Research Training Group 1493 investigates the pertinent mathematical structures and applies them to problems in quantum field theory. Students with a background in pure mathematics or mathematical physics will receive a broad education enabling them to successfully pursue research on problems at the interface between mathematics and quantum physics. In lecture courses taught jointly by a mathematician and a physicist they will learn about central ideas in mathematical physics, including conceptual and constructive aspects of quantum field theory and specific issues in string theory. Their research will be guided and monitored by interdisciplinary thesis committees under the roof of the newly founded Georg-August University School of Science (GAUSS), which ensures structured doctoral study programmes in all mathematics and natural science faculties in Göttingen.

The Research Training Group is embedded in an active research environment with well-established international contacts and collaborations. Our extensive conference and guest programmes expose our students to latest research results and give them the opportunity to interact with leading experts, for example by presenting their own research at these events.

GRK 1493 Mathematische Strukturen in der modernen Quantenphysik

Allgemeine Informationen über das GRK

Die moderne Mathematik wird stark vom Ziel stimuliert, die Physik von Materie, Zeit und Raum auf der Quantenskala zu beschreiben und zu verstehen. Die theoretische Behandlung der dort auftretenden Phänomene benötigt neue Konzepte und Methoden aus verschiedenen Bereichen der Mathematik, von neuartigen Zugängen zu Geometrie und Topologie über neue Techniken in der Analysis unendlicher Systeme bis zur Theorie der Invarianten von Operatoralgebren und zur Kategorientheorie. Fortschritte in dieser Richtung sind wichtig, um die grundlegenden Naturgesetze zu formulieren und anzuwenden, die physikalische Prozesse von der Entstehung von Teilchen in modernen Beschleunigern bis hin zur Bildung und Entwicklung unseres Universums beherrschen.

Das interdisziplinäre Graduiertenkolleg 1493 untersucht die relevanten mathematischen Strukturen und wendet sie auf Probleme aus der Quantenfeldtheorie an. Es bietet Studierenden aus Mathematik und theoretischer Physik eine breite Ausbildung, die es ihnen erlaubt, erfolgreich Fragen im Grenzbereich zwischen Mathematik und Quantenphysik zu erforschen. In einer Vorlesung, die gemeinsam von einem Mathematiker und einem Physiker gestaltet wird, lernen sie zentrale Ideen der mathematischen Physik kennen, einschließlich konzeptioneller und konstruktiver Aspekte der Quantenfeldtheorie und bestimmter Bereiche der Stringtheorie. Ihre Forschung wird von interdisziplinären Betreuungskomitees begleitet und erfolgt im Rahmen der Georg-August-University School of Science (GAUSS), die eine strukturierte Doktorandenausbildung in allen mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultäten sicherstellt.

Das Graduiertenkolleg ist eingebettet in ein aktives Forschungsumfeld mit etablierten internationalen Kontakten und Kooperationen. Unsere umfangreichen Konferenz- und Gastprogramme erlauben den Studierenden Einblicke in neueste Forschungsergebnisse und geben ihnen die Gelegenheit zur Wechselwirkung mit international anerkannten Experten, etwa durch Präsentation ihrer Forschungsergebnisse im Rahmen von Konferenzen.