In publica commoda

Schnupperstudium_Start

What is a lecture actually?
The regular forms of university teaching include lectures, seminars and exercises. During trial study, you have an opportunity to attend lectures. Here, a lecturer speaks for 90 minutes while the students sit in the auditorium, primarily listening and taking notes. Seminars and exercises are different. In these forms of teaching, students come together in smaller groups to deal with the course content by way of discussions, presentations or working groups.
Do I have to register for the lectures?
Registration is not required for individuals. If you wish to take part in trial study, we recommend that you first contact the Central Student Advisory Service or the faculty of your choice.
When is the best time for me to plan attending a lecture?
Please note that the most suitable time for a visit is at the beginning of a new semester. Then the lecture content is not yet too far advanced. Due to various organisational matters, it is not advisable to choose either the first or the last week of lectures. Therefore: the best time to visit Göttingen University is between the end of October and December (for the winter semester) or between the end of April and June (for the summer semester). Would you like to know when the semester starts and when it ends? This information can be found here.
Does it happen that lectures are cancelled?
In exceptional cases, lectures can be cancelled, postponed or moved to different rooms at short notice. Therefore we recommend that you contact the relevant lecturer beforehand. When attending a lecture, please be sure to read the notices outside the auditorium, which may announce a last-minute change of venue.
More questions than answers following a lecture?
This is quite normal! These events are regular lectures from the current semester, which means that, depending on the time of your visit, the content could already be rather advanced. To help you with a proper assessment of your experiences while attending a lecture, we recommend that you subsequently discuss the matter with the student advisory service of the relevant faculty.
How many persons can I take with me to attend a lecture?
You are welcome to make your visit alone or together with a friend. But please avoid coming in larger groups. For groups (from 6 persons upwards) we offer you a separate, special programme.
Can I also acquire credit points?
If you are planning to, check our programme for early study: studying while still at school - a scholarship support programme for gifted secondary school pupils. Even before leaving secondary school with a university entrance qualification, senior secondary school pupils can already attend courses and acquire performance records which will be accredited to their course of studies later on.
What subjects are available for trial study?
At Göttingen University, there are 13 faculties with more than 90 subjects to choose from. For trial study, we divide these into five categories to give you a clearer overview:

- Humanities and Theology
- Teaching profession
- Medicine
- Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science
- Law, Economic Sciences and Social Sciences

A complete overview of courses and degrees offered is given on the page "Subjects from A-Z"

Schnupperstudium_Choose

Not every lecture is suitable for trial study. Therefore we compile a catalogue of lectures suitable for trial study for every new semester. Please note: publication is effected in several steps; only at the beginning of the semester will you find a complete overview here:

Catalogue of lectures for trial study in the UniVZ

If you wish, you are welcome to contact the student advisory service of the faculties or the Central Student Advisory Service. We will help you with planning your trial study programme.

Schnupperstudium_Visit

Selected a lecture? Now you can plan the rest:

What could a day of trial study look like?
Just drop in for lunch at the central cafeteria, too, and make use of the day for a visit to the university library or an exchange of experience with a student. Make an appointment to talk to our student ambassadors during your visit. This is what a day at Göttingen University could look like: Pdf-typical day
Where is the lecture held and how can I get there?
You can use our site map for good orientation on the campus. Here you will not only find every room, but you can also have the closest bus stops displayed - of course with a direct link to the timetable!
Can I meet students on the campus?
Of course it is also possible for you to arrange a meeting with our student ambassadors during your visit to Göttingen University. The student ambassadors can show you around the campus, tell you about student life, about some pleasant and maybe also difficult situations, and they will certainly have a few useful hints for you. Just send an email to studienbotschafter@uni-goettingen.de or contact us directly!

Now you are ready to start!

Schnupperstudium_Discuss

More questions than answers following a lecture?
Your contact partners:

  • In a discussion with the Central Student Advisory Service, you will have an opportunity to reflect on your experience from trial study. The team will provide you with information and advise you regarding interdisciplinary topics, choosing a degree programme and any uncertainties about the requirements for studying.

  • The student advisory service of the faculties is the place to get answers to all questions concerning specific subjects. You will find your contact partners in the A-Z list.

This reflection sheet can help you to prepare for a discussion or to review your own experience.

  • More offers to support you in your decision to study are available here.

We wish you lots of fun during trial study!

In publica commoda

Schnupperstudium - Starten Banner

Was ist eigentlich eine Vorlesung?
Zu den regulären Veranstaltungsformen an der Universität gehören die Vorlesung, das Seminar und die Übung. Im Schnupperstudium haben Sie die Möglichkeit Vorlesungen zu besuchen. Dabei referiert die Dozentin/der Dozent 90 Minuten lang, während die Studierenden im Hörsaal sitzen und vor allem zuhören und mitschreiben. Anders verhält es sich bei Seminaren oder Übungen. Bei diesen Veranstaltungsformen wird sich in einem kleineren Studierendenkreis im Rahmen von Diskussionen, Referaten oder Arbeitsgruppen mit dem Lernstoff auseinandergesetzt.
Muss ich mich für die Veranstaltungen anmelden?
Für Einzelpersonen ist eine Anmeldung nicht erforderlich. Wenn Sie am Schnupperstudium teilnehmen wollen, empfehlen wir sich zuerst bei der Zentralen Studienberatung oder der jeweiligen Fakultät zu melden.
Wann plane ich einen Vorlesungsbesuch am besten?
Bitte beachten Sie, dass sich die Zeit zu Semesterbeginn am meisten für einen Besuch eignet. Dann ist der Vorlesungsstoff noch nicht zu weit fortgeschritten. Aufgrund vieler organisatorischer Belange empfiehlt es sich weder die erste noch die letzte Vorlesungswoche auszuwählen. Also: Am besten besuchen Sie die Uni Göttingen in der Zeit zwischen Ende Oktober und Dezember (Wintersemester) bzw. zwischen Ende April und Juni (Sommersemester). Sie möchten wissen, wann das Semester beginnt und wann es endet? Diese Info finden Sie hier .
Fallen Vorlesungen auch mal aus?
Veranstaltungen können in Ausnahmefällen kurzfristig ausfallen, verschoben werden oder es kann zu Raumverlegungen kommen. Daher ist eine vorherige Kontaktaufnahme mit dem entsprechenden Dozenten zu empfehlen. Beachten Sie bei den Veranstaltungen die Aushänge vor den Veranstaltungsräumen, die auf kurzfristige Raumänderungen etc. hinweisen.
Mehr Fragen als Antworten nach einer Vorlesung?
Das ist ganz normal! Bei den Veranstaltungen handelt es sich um reguläre Vorlesungen aus dem laufenden Semester, sodass, je nach Zeitpunkt Ihres Besuches, der Stoff schon weiter fortgeschritten sein könnte. Um Ihre Erfahrungen beim Vorlesungsbesuch besser einordnen zu können, empfiehlt es sich, im Anschluss mit der Studienberatung der jeweiligen Fakultät darüber zu sprechen.
Mit wie vielen Personen kann ich eine Vorlesung besuchen?
Sie können Ihren Besuch gerne alleine oder mit einem Freund oder einer Freundin vornehmen. Bitte verzichten Sie aber auf die Teilnahme in größeren Gruppen. Für Gruppen (ab 6 Personen) bieten wir Ihnen ein besonderes Angebot an.
Kann ich auch schon Credit Points erwerben?
Wer dies plant, ist richtig bei unserem Angebot Frühstudium: Studieren neben der Schule - ein Förderangebot für begabte Schülerinnen und Schüler. Schon vor dem Erreichen der Hochschulreife können Oberstufenschülerinnen und -schüler Lehrveranstaltungen besuchen und Leistungsnachweise erwerben, die für ein späteres Studium angerechnet werden.
In welche Fächer kann ich schnuppern?
An der Uni Göttingen gibt es 13 Fakultäten mit über 90 Studienfächern. Diese teilen wir beim Schnupperstudium zur besseren Übersichtlichkeit in fünf Gruppen ein:

- Geisteswissenschaften und Theologie
- Lehramt
- Medizin
- Naturwissenschaften, Mathematik und Informatik
- Rechts-, Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften

Einen Gesamtüberblick über das Studienangebot erhalten Sie auf der Seite Studienfächer von A-Z

Schnupperstudium - Auswählen Banner

Nicht jede Vorlesung eigent sich zum Schnuppern. Darum stellen wir Ihnen jedes Semester eine Übersicht von Veranstaltungen zusammen, die sich für das Schnupperstudium eignen. Beachten Sie bitte, dass die Veröffentlichung nach und nach geschieht, erst zu Semesterbeginn finden Sie hier die vollständige Übersicht:

Vorlesungsverzeichnis im UniVZ für das Schnupperstudium

Wenn Sie möchten, können Sie sich gern an die Studienberatung der Fakultäten oder die Zentrale Studienberatung wenden, wir unterstützen Sie in der Planung Ihres Schnupperstudiums.

Schnupperstudium - Besuchen Banner

Vorlesung ausgewählt? Dann kann jetzt der Rest geplant werden:

Wie könnte ein Schnuppertag aussehen?
Schauen Sie auch für ein Mittagessen in der Zentralmensa vorbei und nutzen Sie den Tag für einen Besuch in der Universitätsbibliothek oder einen Erfahrungsaustausch mit einem Studierenden. Vereinbaren Sie für Ihren Besuch ein Gespräch mit unseren Studienbotschafter/Innen. So könnte ein Tag an der Universität Göttingen aussehen: Pdf-Beispieltag
Wo ist die Lehrveranstaltung und wie komme ich dahin?
Für eine gute Orientierung auf dem Campus können Sie unseren Lageplan nutzen. Hier finden Sie nicht nur alle Räume, sondern können sich z.B. auch die nächsten Bushaltestellen anzeigen lassen - natürlich mit direktem Link zum Fahrplan!
Kann ich mich vor Ort mit Studierenden treffen?
Selbstverständlich ist es auch möglich, Ihren Besuch an der Universität Göttingen mit einem Gespräch mit unseren Studienbotschafterinnen und Studienbotschaftern zu kombinieren. Die Studienbotschafter können Ihnen den Campus zeigen, berichten über das Studentenleben, über schöne und vielleicht auch schwierige Situationen und sie haben bestimmt den ein oder anderen Tipp parat. Schreiben Sie einfach eine Mail an studienbotschafter@uni-goettingen.de oder sprechen Sie uns an!
Jetzt kann es losgehen!

Schnupperstudium - Besprechen Banner

Mehr Fragen als Antworten nach einer Vorlesung?
Ihre Ansprechpartner:

  • In einem Gespräch mit der Zentralen Studienberatung haben Sie die Möglichkeit Ihre Erfahrungen aus dem Schnupperstudium zu reflektieren. Das Team informiert und berät Sie bei fachübergreifenden Fragenstellungen, zur Studienwahl und bei Unsicherheiten über die Anforderungen eines Studiums.
  • Die Studienberatung der Fakultäten ist Anlaufstelle für alle Fragen zu bestimmten Studieninhalten. Die Ansprechpartner finden Sie über die A-Z-Liste.

Zur Vorbereitung eines Gesprächs oder zur eigenen Nachbereitung des Erfahrenen kann dieser Reflexionsbogen dienen.

  • Weitere Angebote, die Sie bei Ihrer Studienentscheidung unterstützen, finden Sie hier.

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß beim Schnupperstudium!