In publica commoda

Health insurance for international students

Health insurance is mandatory by federal law for all students at German universities.

There are two types of health insurances: statutory health insurance and private health insurance.

Statutory health insurance

For statutory health insurance the terms of contract, monthly contributions and the scope of benefits are regulated by federal law. Statutory health insurance companies charge a standard fee of 80 euros a month for a student health insurance. This fee is normally discounted from your account on a monthly basis.

Private health insurance

For private health insurances the terms and conditions vary from provider to provider, while the scope of benefits and cover correlates with the monthly contribution. Low-priced insurance schemes normally cover only the basic service. It could happen that in case of sudden illnesses or accidents (but also in case of pregnancy or psychological disorders) the costs of treatment will not be covered. We therefore recommend a statutory health insurance.

There are essential differences regarding the health insurance regulations for EU and non-EU students.

Non-EU students

Non-EU students must have a health insurance in order to apply for a German student visa. Normally, that is a travel health insurance which can be obtained in the home country. This travel insurance will cover the first weeks of your stay in Germany.

After your arrival to Germany, a German health insurance must be obtained. This is the insurance that will be valid during your study period in Germany. You will need proof of this health insurance in order to enroll at the university.

Please note that the student health insurance becomes valid only with the beginning of the semester (1st April or 1st October). Make sure that your travel health insurance is valid until then.

Some of the service providers also offer an opportunity to sign up for the insurance from abroad (TK, DAK, AOK). Please refer to the webpages of the insurance companies and contact them directly for more information. The International Office cannot give any detailed information on that regard.

Important for non-EU students who are older than 30:

After your 30th birthday or your 14th term of study you can no longer get public health insurance at the favourable student rate. However, some public health insurance funds do offer tariffs for graduates which grant cheaper rate health insurance for one extra term. You can also take out voluntary health insurance with one of the public health funds. The Deutsche Studentenwerk has made a general agreement with the UNION Versicherungsdienst and Hanse Merkur Reiseversicherung AG for students who cannot get insurance with a public health fund. You will find more information here.

EU students

EU students don't need any particular travel health insurance as they are covered by the statutory health insurance in their home country throughout the EU, regardless of the beginning of the semester.

Nonetheless, the coverage, its duration and validity must be clarified with the health insurance in the home country beforehand. If coverage in the home country is not provided (anymore), a German health insurance must be obtained, too. For the enrollment, a copy of the EHIC will suffice.

Important: You should carefully compare the advantages and disadvantages of both systems before making a final decision, especially if you are considering the private insurance. Should you opt for a private insurance, it will not be possible to switch to a statutory insurance scheme at any time during your studies.

Disclaimer: The data above is for general information purposes only and is not comparable to legal advice. The International Office of the University of Göttingen disclaims any liability concerning the accuracy of the information provided and is not responsible for the content of any external links or websites.

In publica commoda

Krankenversicherungsschutz für internationale Studierende

Eine Krankenversicherung ist gesetzlich für alle Studierenden in Deutschland verpflichtend.

Es gibt in Deutschland zwei Arten der Krankenversicherung: die gesetzliche und die private Krankenversicherung.

Die gesetzliche Krankenversicherung

Bei der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung sind die Vertragsbedingungen, die monatlichen Beiträge und der Leistungsumfang gesetzlich geregelt. Studierende werden mit einem günstigen Studierendenbeitrag versichert, welcher derzeit bei ca. 80 Euro pro Monat liegt. Dieser Beitrag wird monatlich von Ihrem Konto abgezogen.

Die private Krankenversicherung

Bei den privaten Krankenversicherungen variieren die Bedingungen und Konditionen von Anbieter zu Anbieter. Die preisgünstigen Varianten decken in der Regel nur die notwendigsten Leistungen ab. Bei vorgesehenen Krankheiten oder Unfällen (aber auch bei Schwangerschaften oder aufgetretenen psychologischen Problemen) werden möglicherweise die entstehenden Kosten nicht übernommen.Wir empfehlen daher einen Vertrag mit einer gesetzlichen deutschen Krankenkasse zu unterzeichnen.

Es gibt wichtige Unterscheidungen zwischen Studierenden aus der Europäischen Union (EU) und außerhalb der EU.

Nicht-EU Studierende

Nicht-EU Studierende benötigen eine Krankenversicherung, um sich zunächst für ein deutsches Studentenvisum bewerben zu können.

In der Regel ist dies eine Reisekrankenversicherung, die vor dem Visumantrag im Heimatland abgeschlossen wird. Diese Krankenversicherung bietet auch den Krankenversicherungsschutz während der ersten Wochen in Deutschland.

Eine deutsche Krankenversicherung muss so zeitnah wie möglich nach der Ankunft in Deutschland abgeschlossen werden, da nur diese über den längeren Zeitraum gültig ist und für die Immatrikulation notwendig ist.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Studierendenkrankenversicherung erst mit dem Semesterbeginn rechtsgültig wird (1. April oder 1. Oktober). Stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihre Reisekrankenversicherung bis dahin gültig ist.

Einiger Anbieter (z.B. TK oder DAK) bieten die Möglichkeit, die Versicherung auch online aus dem Ausland abzuschließen. Bitte informieren Sie sich direkt auf den Webseiten der Krankenkassenanbieter (TK, DAK, AOK). Das International Office kann keine detaillierte Auskunft zum Thema geben.

Wichtig für nicht-EU Studierende, die älter als 30 Jahre sind:

eine gesetzliche studentische Krankenversicherung ist ab dem 30. Lebensjahr nicht mehr möglich, es gibt jedoch eine günstige Alternative zu anderen teureren Krankenversicherungen. Denn das Deutsche Studentenwerk hat eine Rahmenvereinbarung mit der Hanse Merkur getroffen, die einen günstigen Versicherungsschutz ermöglicht, ggf. auch unter Einbeziehung von minderjährigen Kindern. Mehr Infos finden Sie hier.

EU-Studierende

EU-Studierende benötigen anfangs keine gesonderte Krankenversicherung, weil sie durch die staatliche Krankenversicherung ihres Heimatlandes EU-weit abgesichert sind, ungebunden an den Semesterbeginn.

Dennoch sollte rechtzeitig mit der heimischen Krankenversicherung der Krankenversicherungsschutz und die -dauer im EU-Ausland abgeklärt werden. Sollte kein Krankenversicherungsschutz im Heimatland (mehr) bestehen, muss ebenfalls eine deutsche Krankenversicherung abgeschlossen werden. Für die Immatrikulation ist eine Kopie der EHIC ausreichend.

Wichtig: Überlegen Sie sich gut vor dem Abschluss einer deutschen Krankversicherung ob Sie eine private oder gesetzliche wählen. Nach dem Abschluss einer privaten Versicherung ist ein Wechsel zu einer gesetzlichen während Ihres Studiums nicht mehr möglich!

Haftungsausschluss: Die oben angegebenen Daten dienen lediglich zu allgemeinen Informationszwecken und sind nicht mit einer rechtliche Beratung vergleichbar. Das International Office der Universität Göttingen übernimmt keinerlei Haftung für die Richtigkeit der zur Verfügung gestellten Informationen und ist nicht verantwortlich für die Inhalte externer Links oder Webseiten.