In publica commoda

Frequently asked questions concerning change of subject

There are numerous influencing factors which could turn a course of studies selected on the basis of certain expectations, hopes and wishes into a problem and make you desire a change or an alternative. In such cases it is important for you to make a decision, either to continue your degree programme with dedication, or to reorient yourself.


The Central Student Advisory Service of Göttingen University will be glad to assist you in this important decision-making process.

Application and enrolment

Any change to a higher subject semester normally requires atransfer of credits for examination prerequisites already completed. The subject-specific advisors for your desired degree programme will inform you whether you can be admitted to a higher subject semester, and if so, will issue the necessary transfer of credits certificate.

You can also discuss the actual acceptance and transfer of your examination prerequisites already completed with your new subject-specific advisors. After the change has been effected, the examination office of your new faculty will take care of the transfer within the examination management system.

Only if you wish to change to a subject with limited admission. Please observe the application deadlines! Attention: There is no guarantee that you will be granted a university place in a subject with limited admission!

Admission to higher semesters may also be limited. In such cases be sure to discuss your plans with your subject-specific advisors before you lodge your application, so that you apply for admission to the right subject semester. For any subject with limited admission, you can apply for admission to the first and to one higher subject semester.

For subjects with open admissionyou can apply directly for a transfer during the period of enrolment.

The limitation of admission for various subjects may be changed in higher semesters. In such cases it could be possible that you need no longer apply for a university place if you have the necessary credits for completed examination prerequisites transferred.

If you make a new start in the first subject semester, you must also observe the date of the possible start of your programme. Subjects for dual-subject Bachelor's degree programmes generally only start in the winter semester.

Instructions for students with a nationality outside the EU (or stateless students) or graduates from a preparatory college:


Regardless of whether or not your new desired subject of study is one with restricted admission, you are required to lodge an application in the correct form and on time at the International Student Office. Your transfer of credits certificate must already be submitted with your application.
For subjects with open admission you only need an application for change of your study schedule, which you submit to the Registrar?s Office prior to the deadline, where applicable accompanied by your transfer of credits certificate and any other required documentary evidence. Admission is a prerequisite for enrolment in any subjects with limited admission. The letter of admission is accompanied by a declaration of acceptance where you can enter your new choice of degree programme.

Please note that enrolment for some subjects requires evidence of language proficiency or having passed an aptitude test.

Students with a nationality outside the EU (or stateless students) or graduates from a preparatory college, however, please apply to the International Student Office.

Seeking information

Important information and points of contact can always be found as part of each entry in our general information about courses and degrees offered (Subjects from A to Z):

Make use of the facilities available to clarify your doubts:

  • The study advisory service of the faculties will assist you in case of difficulties with your subject, in planning your schedule of studies or in developing perspectives for the time following your (Bachelor?s) degree programme.
  • The Central Student Advisory Service offers personal counselling and interdisciplinary workshops about changing subjects and reorientation. Here, you have an opportunity to reflect on your first experiences of study and to develop suitable strategies and alternatives, if necessary.

If you are looking for a new subject, you are welcome to use the extensive programme for prospective students. Please check the options available there, such as the information days for prospective students, the online self-assessment for course orientation or trial studies.

Other useful links for research:

It may be a good idea to plan your further schedule of studies. In a dual-subject Bachelor?s degree programme you could concentrate on the subject you wish to continue. In a mono Bachelor?s degree programme there could be opportunities in the area of key competencies to acquire credits for your future degree programme. You should discuss your future schedule of studies with the study and examination advisors.

Your start in the new subject should also be planned. Depending on the specific study and examination regulations, some modules may be required which are only taught during the winter semester. If passing any of these modules is a prerequisite for further study, a rapid continuation of studies cannot necessarily be ensured in the case of admission for the summer semester. Please discuss your further schedule of studies with the subject-specific advisors in connection with your transfer of credits.

Please be sure to observe the BAföG regulations when changing your subject. If you have any questions, please contact the student services organisation Studentenwerk Göttingen. In this connection, we would also like to draw your attention to the free legal assistance provided by the student union (AStA).

In publica commoda

Häufige Fragen zum Fachwechsel

Es gibt zahlreiche Einflussfaktoren, die aus dem mit bestimmten Erwartungen, Wünschen und Hoffnungen gewähltem Studium ein Problem machen können und bei Ihnen den Wunsch nach einer Veränderung bzw. Alternative wecken. Wichtig ist, dass Sie zu der Entscheidung kommen, entweder Ihr Studium engagiert weiter zu verfolgen, oder sich entsprechend umzuorientieren.

Bei diesem wichtigen Entscheidungsprozess steht Ihnen die Zentrale Studienberatung der Universität Göttingen gerne zur Seite.

Bewerbung und Einschreibung

Der Wechsel in ein höheres Fachsemester setzt in der Regel die Anrechnung bereits erbrachter Studienleistungen voraus. Die Fachberatung Ihres angestrebten Studienfachs informiert Sie darüber, ob Sie in ein höheres Fachsemester eingestuft werden können und stellt Ihnen ggf. die notwendige Anrechnungs­bescheinigung aus.

Die konkrete Anerkennung und Umbuchung Ihrer bereits erbrachten Studienleistungen können Sie ebenfalls mit der Fachberatung vorbesprechen. Die Umbuchung im Prüfungs­verwaltungs­system übernimmt nach dem erfolgten Wechsel das Prüfungsamt Ihrer neuen Fakultät.

Nur wenn es sich um ein zulassungsbeschränktes Studien­fach handelt. Beachten Sie bitte die Bewerbungs­fristen! Vorsicht: Niemand kann Ihnen garantieren, dass Sie einen Studien­platz für ein zulassungs­beschränktes Fach bekommen!

Auch im höheren Semester kann der Zugang zulassungs­beschränkt sein. In diesem Fall sprechen Sie mit der Fachberatung unbedingt vor Ihrer Bewerbung, damit Sie sich in das richtige Fachsemester bewerben. Sie können sich im Falle eines zulassungs­beschränkten Studienfachs auf das 1. und ein höheres Fachsemester bewerben. Die Anrechnungs­bescheinigung muss erst zur Einschreibung nach erfolgter Zulassung vorliegen.

In zulassungsfreie Fächer können Sie direkt in der Immatrikulationsfrist eine Umschreibung beantragen.

Im höheren Semester können einzelne Studienfächer ihre Zulassungs­beschränkung wechseln. In diesem Fall kann es möglich sein, dass Sie sich bei passender Anrechnung bisheriger Studienleistungen nicht mehr auf einen Studienplatz bewerben müssen.

Wenn Sie im 1. Fachsemester neu beginnen, müssen Sie ebenfalls den möglichen Studienbeginn beachten. Studienfächer im Rahmen des 2-Fächer Bachelors beginnen grundsätzlich nur im Wintersemester.

Hinweis für Studierende mit einer Staatsbürgerschaft außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose):


Unabhängig von der Zulassungsbeschränkung Ihres neuen Studienwunsches müssen Sie sich form- und fristgerecht beim International Student Office bewerben. Die Anrechnungsbescheinigung muss bereits zur Bewerbung vorliegen.
Für zulassungsfreie Studienfächer benötigen Sie nur den Antrag auf Änderung des Studienverlaufs, den Sie beim Studierendenbüro fristgerecht ggf. mit der Anrechnungs­bescheinigung und weiteren Nachweisen einreichen. Die Einschreibung in zulassungs­beschränkte Studienfächer setzt Ihre Zulassung voraus. Dieser ist eine Annahmeerklärung beigelegt, in der Sie Ihre neue Studienwahl eintragen können.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass für die Einschreibung in einigen Fächern Sprachnachweise oder eine Eignungsprüfung vorausgesetzt werden.

Studierende mit einer Staatsbürgerschaft außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose) müssen sich hingegen bitte an das International Student Office wenden.

Informieren

Wichtige Informationen und Anlaufstellen sind immer beim jeweiligen Eintrag in unseren Informationen zum Studienangebot (Studienfächer von A bis Z) zu finden:

Nutzen Sie die Angebote, um Ihre Zweifel zu klären:

  • Die Studienberatung in den Fakultäten unterstützt Sie u.a. bei Schwierigkeiten im Fach, bei der Planung Ihres Studienverlaufs oder bei der Entwicklung von Perspektiven nach dem (Bachelor-)Studium.
  • Die Zentrale Studienberatung bietet individuelle Beratung und fächerübergreifende Workshops zum Fachwechsel und zur Neuorientierung. Hier besteht für Sie u.a. die Möglichkeit, die ersten Studienerfahrungen zu reflektieren und bei Bedarf passende Strategien und Alternativen zu entwickeln.

Wenn Sie nach einem neuen Studienfach suchen, nutzen Sie gerne das vielfältige Angebot für Studieninteressierte. Informieren Sie sich hier über Angebote, wie die Infotage für Studieninteressierte, die virtuelle Studienorientierung oder das Schnupperstudium.

Weitere nützliche Links zur Recherche:

Es kann sinnvoll sein Ihren weiteren Studienverlauf zu planen. Im Rahmen des 2-Fächer Bachelors könnten sich auf das Studienfach zu konzentrieren, dass Sie beibehalten möchten. Auch im Mono-Bachelor kann es im Rahmen der Schlüsselkompetenzen Möglichkeiten geben, bereits Leistungen für das kommende Studium zu erwerben. Ihren weiteren Studienverlauf sollten Sie mit der Studien- und Prüfungsberatung absprechen.

Auch ihr Neueinstieg in das neue Studienfach sollte geplant werden. Je nach Studien- und Prüfungsordnung sind Module vorgesehen, die nur im Wintersemester angeboten werden. Wenn das Bestehen dieser Module Voraussetzung für ein weiteres Studium ist, kann ein zügiges Weiterstudium bei Zulassung zum Sommersemester nicht unbedingt gewährleistet werden. Bitte besprechen Sie im Rahmen Ihrer Anerkennung bisher erbrachter Studienleistungen bei der Studienfachberatung Ihren weiteren Studienverlauf.

Bitte beachten Sie bei einem Wechsel Ihres Studienfaches unbedingt die Bestimmungen des BAföG. Bitte wenden Sie sich bei Fragen an das Studentenwerk Göttingen. Hinweisen möchten wir Sie an dieser Stelle auch auf die kostenlose Rechtsberatung des allgemeinen Studierendenausschusses.