Erasmus+ Key Action 103 - Internships for Outgoing Students

An internship abroad is a great opportunity to gain international experience. First insights into work processes of companies and organisations as well as the acquisition of practical experiences can have a positive effect on the personal and professional development. It also improves the chances on the job market.

Internship abroad with Erasmus+ Key Action 103

Erasmus+ placements in Key Action 103 are EU-funded mobility projects in the field of vocational education and training. The University of Göttingen supports students and graduates within the framework of this programme by promoting internships that qualify for a profession. The internship has to be carried out in an EU country, Turkey, Macedonia, Norway or Iceland.

First steps

For the preparation of an Erasmus+ funded internship abroad, each student should plan sufficient time and consider the following questions:

  1. Which language skills are needed? Which level should I be proficient in until the beginning of my internship?
  2. What additional experiences and skills are important for a placement abroad? What should I acquire in advance?
  3. Do I have to do or do I want to do an internship abroad voluntarily?
  4. At what time would I like to start an internship: during my studies or during the year after my deregistration? Will I be able to do an internship abroad for at least 60 days?
  5. Which company or organisation can offer me an Erasmus+ eligible internship?

The following facilities of the University of Göttingen are available to you with advice and research options:

  • The International Career Service will be happy to advise you on all matters concerning the planning, research and organisation of a planned internship abroad.
  • As the central institution for languages and key qualifications, ZESS is an important contact when it comes to linguistic and intercultural preparation.
  • Göttingen State and University Library (SUB) also offers literature on technical as well as on intercultural preparation.

The application process

Since students of the University of Göttingen have two Erasmus+ funding opportunities available, it is advisable to clarify the right programme in an previous conversation. Therefore, interested students should urgently seize the opportunity for an individual consultation. The Erasmus+ KA 103 team from the department Göttingen International is available for all questions concerning the application process and the Erasmus+ funding (see contact in the right-hand column). Information on the eligibility of the host institution can be found on the project page of Leibniz Universität Hannover.

The application in the mobility project "Mix it - Mobility, Internship Experience and Intercultural Training
The complete application documents include

  • Letter of motivation or application form,
  • Learning Agreement for Traineeships,
  • Enrollment or deregistration certificates and
  • if applicable, proof of already existing Erasmus+ funding.
The documents are available on the web page of the project "Mix it". The documents must be submitted in the original including all signatures at Göttingen International no later than three months before the start of the internship (see right-hand column).

After successful examination by the consortium in the EU-Hochschulbüro Hannover/Hildesheim and subject to the available funds, the Erasmus+ funded scholarship will be awarded.

The application at Göttingen International: The poject "Working E+xperience"

The department Göttingen International offers students of the University the opportunity to promote internships within Europe (programme countries) with Erasmus+ Key Action 103 programme “Working E+xperience”. The project primarily addresses students of science subjects, international students and students whose internships focuses on digital skills. However, the programme is also open for other target groups. For example, internships (more than four months) and above all internships in Eastern Europe are to receive special support. Information on funding conditions and monthly funding rates can be found in the current call for applications 2018/20. Please note that traineeships with EU institutions and other EU bodies (including specialised agencies) and bodies managing EU programmes are not eligible.
The complete application documents include
The complete application documents include

  • Application form (German only),
  • Proof of internship placement (see template),
  • Proof of sufficient language skills,
  • Enrollment or deregistration certificates and
  • if applicable, proof of already existing Erasmus+ funding.
  • Recommended: Proof of intercultural competences.

All documents (original) must be submitted completely and in due time to Göttingen International no later than three months before the start of the internship (see right-hand column). After successful examination, students have to register in the mobility portal to submit a complete Learning Agreement for Traineeship up to 6 weeks before the start of the internship. After the successful examination of the Learning Agreement and subject to the available funds, the Erasmus+ grant in the Key Action 103 will be awarded.

International degree seeking students please note that you need

  • a residence in Germany and
  • a German bank account.

Erasmus+ Key Action 103 - Praktika für Outgoing Studierende

Ein Auslandspraktikum ist eine gute Möglichkeit praxisorientierte internationale Erfahrungen zu sammeln und Sprachkenntnisse zu verbessern. Erste Einblicke in die Arbeitsabläufe von Unternehmen und Organisationen sowie das Aneignen von praktischen Erfahrungen können sich positiv auf die persönliche und berufliche Entwicklung auswirken. Grundsätzlich lassen sich damit auch die Chancen am Arbeitsmarkt verbessern.

Praktikum im Ausland mit Erasmus+ Key Action 103

Erasmus+ Praktika in der Key Action 103 sind von der EU geförderte Mobilitätsprojekte im Bereich der Berufsbildung. Die Universität Göttingen unterstützt Studierende und Graduierte im Rahmen dieses Programms durch die Förderung von berufsqualifizierenden Praktika, welche in einem Erasmus+ Programmland durchgeführt werden.

Die ersten Schritte

Für die Vorbereitung eines Erasmus+ geförderten Auslandspraktikums sollte jede/r Studierende ausreichend Zeit einplanen und folgende Fragen für sich klären:

  1. Welche Sprachkenntnisse werden benötigt? Welches Niveau sollte ich bis zum Praktikumsbeginn beherrschen?
  2. Welche zusätzlichen Erfahrungen und Fähigkeiten sind wichtig für ein Auslandspraktikum? Was sollte ich mir im Vorfeld noch aneignen?
  3. Muss ich oder möchte ich freiwillig ein Auslandspraktikum absolvieren?
  4. Wann möchte ich ein Praktikum beginnen: während des Studiums oder während des Jahres nach meiner Exmatrikulation? Habe ich mindestens 60 Tage Zeit für ein Auslandspraktikum?
  5. Welches Unternehmen oder welche Organisation kann mir ein Erasmus+ förderfähiges Praktikum anbieten?
Gerne stehen Ihnen nachstehende Einrichtungen der Universität Göttingen mit Beratungs- und Recherchemöglichkeiten zur Verfügung:

  • Der International Career Service berät Sie gerne zu allen Fragen rund um die Planung, Recherche und Organisation eines geplanten Auslandspraktikums.
  • Die ZESS ist als zentrale Einrichtung für Sprachen und Schlüsselqualifikationen Ihr Ansprechpartner, wenn es um die sprachliche und interkulturelle Vorbereitung geht.
  • Auch die Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek bietet Literatur zur fachlichen als auch interkulturellen Vorbereitung.

Der Bewerbungsprozess

Da Studierenden der Universität Göttingen zwei Erasmus+ Fördermöglichkeiten zur Verfügung stehen, empfiehlt es sich, vorab in einem Gespräch zu klären, welches Programm das passende sein wird.
Interessierte Studierende sollten daher dringend die Gelegenheit zu einem individuellen Beratungsgespräch nutzen. Die Auslandsstudienberatung des Erasmus+ KA 103 Teams steht zu allen Fragen rund um die Bewerbung und die Erasmus+ Förderung zur Verfügung (s. rechte Spalte).

Die Bewerbung im Mobilitätsprojekt „Mix it - Mobility, Internship Experience and Intercultural Training”

Die vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen umfassen

  • Motivationsschreiben bzw. Bewerbungsformular,
  • Learning Agreement for Traineeships,
  • Immatrikulations- bzw. Exmatrikulationsbescheinigungen und
  • ggf. ein Nachweis über bereits erfolgte Erasmus+ Förderung.

Die Dokumente sind auf der Seite des Projektes „Mix it“ hinterlegt. Die Unterlagen sind spätestens drei Monate vor Beginn des Praktikums im Original und mit allen Unterschriften bei Göttingen International einzureichen (s. rechte Spalte).

Nach erfolgreicher Prüfung durch das Konsortium im EU-Hochschulbüro Hannover/Hildesheim und vorbehaltlich der zur Verfügung stehenden Mittel erfolgt die Bewilligung eines Erasmus+ geförderten Stipendiums in der Key Action 103.

Die Bewerbung bei Göttingen International: Das Projekt "Working E+xperience"

Die Abteilung Göttingen International bietet Studierenden der Universität die Möglichkeit, Praktika innerhalb Europas (Programmländer) mit dem Erasmus+ Key Action 103 Programm „Working E+xperience“ zu fördern. Angesprochen werden vor allem Studierende der medizinischen und naturwissenschaftlichen Fächer, internationale Studierende und Studierende, deren Praktikum sich auf Digital Skills fokussiert. Aber auch anderen Zielgruppen steht das Programm offen. So sollen zum Beispiel längere Praktika (über vier Monate) und vor allem Praktika in Ostmitteleuropa besonders unterstützt werden. Informationen zu den Förderbedingungen und den monatlichen Förderraten sind in der aktuellen Ausschreibung 2018/20 zu finden.
Die vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen umfassen

  • Bewerbungsformular,
  • Nachweis der aufnehmenden Praktikumseinrichtung (vgl. Vorlage),
  • Nachweis ausreichender Sprachkenntnisse,
  • Immatrikulations- bzw. Exmatrikulationsbescheinigungen und
  • ggf. ein Nachweis über bereits erfolgte Erasmus+ Förderung (z.B. durch das Certificate of Stay)
  • Empfohlen: Nachweis über interkulturelle Kompetenz.

Alle Unterlagen müssen spätestens 3 Monate vor Beginn des Praktikums vollständig und fristgerecht bei Göttingen International (s. rechte Spalte) eingereicht werden. Nach erfolgreicher Prüfung durch Göttingen International erfolgt die Aufforderung, sich im Mobilitätsportal zu registrieren und bis 6 Wochen vor Praktikumsbeginn ein vollständiges Learning Agreement for Traineeship einzureichen. Nach Prüfung des Learning Agreements erfolgt vorbehaltlich der zur Verfügung stehenden Mittel die Bewilligung einer Erasmus+ Förderung in der Key Action 103.