Göttingen International

Scholarships and Funding for International Students

The study expenses at the University of Göttingen are relatively low since there are no tuition fees on top of the administrative fees. Even so, securing funding for your studies is essential. Keep in mind that a secure financial situation is fundamental for successful studies.

With the exception of the so-called "Deutschlandstipendium", German universities usually do not provide scholarships and thus, applicants should refer to external organisations for funding–both in Germany and in their home country. Please note that new undergraduate students are rarely eligible to apply for funding prior to starting their studies. Only a very few donors award scholarships to students who are enrolled in undergraduate programmes and a citizen of a state outisde of the EU and EEA.

Databases

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) is the major scholarship provider for international students. Please note that it sometimes provides scholarships in cooperation with local partners.

Postgraduate Programmes

If you apply for a postgraduate programme, check with our study advisors, programme coordinators or graduate schools whether they can advise on exclusive funding schemes for your subject/programme.

Funding Providers

Once you are enrolled in your study programme you become eligible to apply for a number of scholarships. Many of these organisations have nominated "liason lecturers" (Vertrauensdozenten) as contacts for applicants seeking funding.

The following list does not exhaust all possible sources of funding. For instance, private donors and many smaller organisations are not included. Most donors in this list only grant scholarships to international students who are enrolled in postgraduate programmes. Private donors and smaller organisations can usually only be found on listings and databases curated by commercial publishers.

Partial Scholarships and Grants Awarded by the University of Göttingen

The University of Göttingen awards partial scholarships as part of a private-public partnership. All students enrolled at the University can apply for the “Deutschschlandstipendium” and “Niedersachsenstipendien”.

Databases

Looking at scholarship databases allow you to find additional donors not directly present at Göttingen University.

Earning money

Most students use serveral sources of income to finance their studies. For many students in Germany it's quite normal to work part-time whilst studying. International students are allowed to work in Germany. Students from countries outside of the EU are allowed to work 240 half days (or 120 full days) per year. Many students work as student or research assistants, others in cafés and restaurants or at trade fairs. Please keep in mind that knowing German can significantly increase your chances of finding a part-time job.

Databases

Most scholarship programmes are merit based and often take into consideration extra-curricular activities of applicants. After your first semesters, your chances to provide evidence of academic excellence and engagement improve significantly.

Academic Degree Bursaries

The International Office's bursary and financial assistance committee awards partial bursaries to international students who are about to finish their studies and who had predominantly financed their studies on their own until the moment of application for this bursary.

Göttingen International

Stipendien und Förderung für internationale Studierende

Die Kosten für ein Studium an der Universität Göttingen sind sehr gering, da Sie keine Studiengebühren über den Semesterbeitrag hinaus zahlen müssen. Die Finanzierung Ihres Studiums sicherzustellen ist dennoch von wesentlicher Bedeutung. Für ein erfolgreiches Studium ist eine gesicherte Finanzierung eine wichtige Grundlage.

Mit Ausnahme des sogenannten "Deutschlandstipendium" bieten deutsche Universitäten normalerweise keine Stipendien an. Bewerberinnen und Bewerber sollten daher nach anderen Stipendiengebern suchen – nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in Ihrem Herkunftsland. Beachten Sie bitte, dass Studienanfänger selten ein Stipendien oder finanzielle Förderung bekommen können, bevor Sie an einer deutschen Universität eingeschrieben sind.

Datenbanken

Der Deutsche akademische Austauschdienst (DAAD) ist der wichtigste und größte Stipendiengeber für internationale Studierende. Der DAAD bietet auch Stipendienprogramme in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern und Agenturen an.

Master/Promotion (PhD)

Wenn Sie sich auf einen Studienplatz in einem weiterführenden Studiengang (Master, PhD) bewerben, kontaktieren Sie gerne unsere Fachberatung, die Studiengangskoordination oder die Graduiertenschule, um sich über exklusive Förderungsmöglichkeiten in Ihrem Studiengang zu informieren.

Förderwerke und Stipendiengeber

Nachdem Sie in Ihrem Studiengang eingeschrieben sind, können Sie sich auf eine Reihe von Stipendien bewerben. Viele Förderwerke haben sogenannte "Vertrauensdozenten" als Kontakt für Förderkandidatinnen und Förderkandidaten ernannt.

Diese folgende Liste ist nicht vollständig. Nicht alle potenziellen Stipendiengeber werden genannt. So werden weder private Stipendiengeber noch viele kleine, regionale Förderwerke genannt. Viele der Stipendiengeber in dieser Liste vergeben darüber hinaus Stipendien nur an internationale Studierende in Master- oder Promotionsstudiengängen (PhD). Private Stipendiengeber und kleinere Förderwerke finden Sie normalerweise nur in kommerziellen Datenbanken.

Teilstipendien und Finanzierungszuschüsse vergeben von der Universität Göttingen

Die Universität Göttingen vergibt im Rahmen von öffentlich-privaten Partnerschaften Teilstipendien und einmalige finanzielle Zuschüsse. Alle Studierenden der Universität Göttingen können sich auf diese sogenannten "Deutschlandstipendium" und "Niedersachsenstipendium" bewerben.

Datenbanken

Über die Stipendiendatenbanken können Sie auch Fördermöglichkeiten finden, die keine direkte Präsenz an der Universität Göttingen haben.

Allgemeine Informationen

Es gibt neben Stipendien auch einmalige oder zeitlich begrenzte Finanzierungszuschüsse und -beihilfen, auf die Sie sich bewerben können. Die Zuschüsse finanzieren zum Beispiel ein Forschungsvorhaben oder die Beteiligung an einer Konferenz.

Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden

Geld verdienen

Die meisten Studierenden finanzieren Ihr Studium aus mehreren Quellen. Für viele Studierende in Deutschland ist es normal, neben dem Studium in Teilzeit zu arbeiten. Auch internationalen Studierenden ist es erlaubt, in Deutschland zu arbeiten. Internationale Studierende außerhalb der EU haben das Recht 240 Tage pro Jahr in Teilzeit zu arbeiten (120 Tage bei der Vollzeitbeschäftigung). Viele Studierende arbeiten als Studentische Hilfskräfte an der Universität, helfen in Restaurants oder auf Messen aus. Deutschkenntnisse sind häufig eine wichtige Voraussetzung, einen Nebenjob zu bekommen.

Datenbanken

Die meisten Stipendienprogramme sind leistungsorientiert, berücksichtigen aber häufig auch ehrenamtliche Aktivitäten der Bewerberinnen und Bewerber. Nach den ersten Semestern fällt es üblicherweise wesentlich leichter die eigene akademische Leistung und das eigene Engagement vorzuweisen.

Studienabschluss-Stipendien

Aus Mitteln des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) vergibt der Stipendien- und Beihilfeausschuss (STIBA) von Göttingen International Teilstipendien an ausländische Studierende, die ihr Studium überwiegend durch eigene Erwerbsarbeit finanziert haben und kurz vor dem Abschluss ihres Studiums stehen.