The Winter Semester 2022/23 under Pandemic Conditions: Information for International Students

I. Application and Admission, Semester Fee, Enrolment, Lecture Period, Teaching

Application for the winter semester 2022/23 is only possible for undergraduate subjects without admission restrictions. Please click here for information on the range of courses offered and here for information on the application procedure.

Notifications of admission for the winter semester 2022/23 are sent out in February and March, for the courses of study Medicine and Dentistry/State Examination/1st semester most probably in March.

It is not possible to transfer an admission to a later semester. If you are unable to accept the place offered or if you withdraw your enrolment, you must reapply.

As of today, the application period for the summer semester 2023 begins on September 01, 2022 and is currently expected to end on October 31, 2022. Applications for higher semesters are possible from 01 December 2022 to 15 January 2023. Different application deadlines apply for Master's programmes, for which you can find information here.

Doctoral students who have received a letter of admission from their Academic Department can be enroled continuously. Please find the registration portal here

Semester fees are mostly solidarity contributions that help to finance infrastructure and services that are available to all students. A reduction for pandemic reasons (for example, if you are studying online from abroad) is not possible.

Different regulations may apply to courses of study financed by fees. If necessary, please contact the programme coordination at the Academic Department.

Enrolment at the University of Göttingen is a digital, location-independent process. Only in exceptional cases do original documents have to be submitted for enrolment. You will receive detailed information by e-mail during the enrolment process.

Withdrawal of enrolment with refund of semester fees paid is possible up to one month after the start of lectures.

The majority of newly enrolled students have the opportunity to log in at https://ecampus.uni-goettingen.de/account with the registration data received during the application process and to set a password for the regular student account. From this moment on, it can be used for all eCampus functions (registration for courses etc.).

The portal also allows a portrait photo to be taken, which is used for the chip card. The production of the chip card will also be initiated for internationals who cannot enter the country at first, since a SUB user account will only be created and activated when the card is produced. This also allows the use of digital library resources.

The chip card will be stored until you can come in to pick it up. Storage time is not limited.

For some newly enrolled students the portal is not available for technical reasons. If you receive an error message when attempting to log on to the portal, please contact campussupport@uni-goettingen.de, stating your full name, date of birth and matriculation number, and request that your account data be communicated. You will then receive this information in an encrypted pdf document.

Attach a suitable photo to your e-mail to also trigger the production of the chip card. You can then use digital library resources. The card will be stored until you can pick it up on site.

The winter semester 2022/23 starts as planned on 01 October 2022 and ends on 31 March 2023. The start of the lecture period is currently October 24, 2022. We expect the lecture period to end as planned on 10 February 2023.

Since the beginning of April, level 0 has been in effect in Covid 19 level system of the University of Göttingen. This means: Back to presence. All courses take place in presence, online or hybrid courses are possible in some cases. Lab practicals and excursions also take place in person. The 3G rule is no longer mandatory.

Libraries are open, you can use all workstations there, and the services are also available to you in full. University sports are permitted within the framework of legal requirements.

You can still test yourself with the Campus-Covid-Screen (CCS) for free.

II. Visa, Entry, Quarantine and Self-Isolation, Situation on Site

The situation at German embassies and consulates remains uneven and depends on the local pandemic situation. The procedures for applying for visas, for taking part in interviews and for collecting visas that have been granted vary greatly. Find out more about the current situation on the website of the respective mission abroad.

A certificate stating that physical presence at the university location is indispensable is no longer required for students.

For students, entry into the European Union and Germany is generally permitted.

Regulations on entry, compulsory testing and quarantine differ according to how the German Robert Koch Institute classifies the country you are entering from:

areas classified neither as high-risk nor as virus variant areas;

virus variant areas countries or regions where critical mutations of the SARS-CoV-2 virus have occurred.

In the following, vaccinated persons are persons who have been fully immunized with a vaccine against the novel corona virus authorised in the European Union up to 14 days prior to entry. Licensed productions of vaccines approved in the European Union that are marketed under a different trade name are considered equivalent and are accepted.

Recovered persons are considered fully vaccinated if, in addition to the recovery certificate, they have received a dose of a vaccine authorised in the European Union.

Recovered persons are persons who can provide medical evidence of previous infection with the novel corona virus and a negative PCR test not older than 90 days and not younger than 28 days.

  • ENTRY FROM AREAS NOT CLASSIFIED AS VIRUS VARIANT AREAS

Until 30 August 2022, no special regulations apply.

  • ENTRY FROM VIRUS VARIANT AREAS

Entry from virus variant areas is possible for students and researchers. Particularly strict rules apply:

Before entering you are obliged to register online.

If you are unable to register online, you will have to fill in a substitute form upon entry. Transport companies are obliged to check this registration before departure.

If you are entering the country from a virus variant area, you must present a negative PCR test before departure. The test must not be older than 48 hours at the time of entry. Rapid antigen tests are not accepted. This applies to entries by air, sea or land. Evidence of vaccination or recovery is not accepted.

After arrival, a mandatory self-isolation period of 14 days applies. There is no option to shorten the self-isolation by a second testing on site. This also applies to fully immunised and/or recovered persons.

  • IF AN INFECTION IS DIAGNOSED

In the event an infection is diagnosed, the public heath office will impose a domestic quarantine. This will continue until the symptoms have cleared and two successive tests have come back negative. The quarantine must be strictly adhered to; violations are punishable by fines of up to €3,000. Depending on the severity of your illness, medical treatment at home or admission to a hospital may be necessary. These measures will be organised for you by the Göttingen Health Office. If you fall ill with COVID-19, all costs for treatment will be generally covered by your health insurance company.

During the quarantine, you can use delivery services to supply yourself with food. Students and University staff will also provide support in case of emergency (see below, Delivery Services).

For supply during self-isolation or quarantine, delivery services are available that deliver durable food and drugstore items to you by postal mail. Within limits, fresh food can also be obtained from delivery services.

Corresponding addresses and further resources can be found in a handout that we have compiled for you.

Volunteers will be available to assist you during quarantine or self-isolation. Corresponding information can be found here.

You do not have to have drinking water supplied: Tap water in Germany is generally of better quality than many products from the supermarket and can be drunk without hesitation.

Registration with the city of Göttingen is currently only possible by prior appointment via online form. The usual 14-day deadline for registration with the city is suspended, but you should try to make an appointment as soon as possible. To register, you will need your passport and a Wohnungsgeberbescheinigung, a confirmation of residence to be filled out by your landlord.

The Foreigners‘ Registration Office (Ausländerbehörde) Göttingen is only accessible to a limited extent. Before applying for a residence permit, contact the Foreigners‘ Registration Office by telephone or email.

The Robert Koch Institute provides up-to-date information on the situation in Germany. You will find here detailed information for Göttingen and also for individual districts, including the district of Göttingen.

Detailed information in English on protection against infections in everyday situations can be found here. Check out WHO’s ‘Mythbusters’ section, too. The most important basic rules remain:

  • Generally limit contact with people who are not members of your household to a minimum
  • Keep a minimum distance of 1.5 metres to people in public and 2 metres for physical activity or outdoor sports.
  • Observe general rules of hygiene: Always sneeze and cough into the crook of your arm, wash your hands regularly for at least 20 seconds
  • Wear a medical protective masks of classes FFP2/KN95 covering your nose and mouth in public places (including shops and markets) and on public transport.
  • Meetings in public or in your private rooms are only allowed within narrow limits.

These rules are explained and specified here. Please note that violations of infection control regulations can be punished with fines of up to €25,000.

The University of Göttingen has implemented its own hygiene strategy to prevent infection. It provides for a large number of individual measures, the scope and extent of which depend on the current infection situation. Click here for information on the currently valid regulations. Please note in particular that access to courses on site is limited to fully vaccinated, recovered or recently tested persons. The University‘s CampusCovidScreen offers free testing on campus.

The information services and counselling facilities of the University are available via telephone, email and video conferences.

Internationals with a German registration address are entitled to free vaccination against the novel coronavirus. This includes booster vaccinations. Vaccination can be done by general practitioners. Furthermore, the city of Göttingen does provide an overview of the current vaccination centres in Göttingen and its surroundings.

Persons who have been vaccinated with a vaccine not licensed in the European Union are considered unvaccinated in Germany. They can receive another full series of vaccinations with a European Union-approved mRNA vaccine no earlier than 28 days after completing the first series of vaccinations to achieve ‚vaccinated‘ status. General practitioners offer detailed advice and vaccinations.

Vaccination and recovery certificates issued in the European Union can be filed in the CovPass app. Pharmacies provide the necessary QR codes. People who have been vaccinated in non-EU or EEA countries with vaccines approved in the EU can usually also obtain these QR codes if they can provide sufficient vaccination documentation. Pharmacies that routinely handle such vaccination certificates can be found on Waldweg or Humboldtbogen.

Info videos in 13 languages: Corona testing and vaccination


Contact:

The International Office
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Personal Office Hours:
Mon and Wed 10-12 h

Hotline-International students and applicants


+49 551/39 27777


Calling Hours:
Mon - Fri 9 - 12 h

Contact


Map


Find us on Facebook

Informationen zum Wintersemester 2022/23 unter Pandemie-Bedingungen für internationale Studierende

I. Bewerbung und Zulassung, Semesterbeitrag, Immatrikulation, Vorlesungszeit, Lehre

Die Bewerbung zum Wintersemester 2022/23 ist nur noch für grundständige Fächer ohne Zulassungsbeschränkung möglich. Informieren Sie sich hier zum Studienangebot und hier zum Bewerbungsverfahren.

Zulassungsbescheide zum Wintersemester 2022/23 werden im August und September verschickt, für die Studiengänge Medizin und Zahnmedizin/Staatsexamen/1. Fachsemester voraussichtlich im Juli.

Die Übertragung einer Zulassung auf ein späteres Semester ist nicht möglich. Wenn Sie den angebotenen Studienplatz nicht annehmen können oder die Immatrikulation zurücknehmen, müssen Sie sich erneut bewerben.

Die Bewerbungsphase zum 1. Fachsemester zum Sommersemester 2023 beginnt am 01. September 2022 und endet nach aktuellem Stand voraussichtlich am 31. Oktober 2022. Bewerbungen zum höheren Fachsemester sind vom 01. Dezember 2022 bis zum 15. Januar 2023 möglich. Für Masterstudiengänge gelten abweichende Bewerbungsfristen, zu denen Sie sich hier informieren können.

Promovierende, die einen Zulassungsbescheid ihrer Fakultät erhalten haben, können fortlaufend eingeschrieben werden. Bitte registrieren Sie sich dafür hier.

Semesterbeiträge sind zum größten Teil Solidarbeiträge, die zur Finanzierung von Infrastrukturen und Leistungen beitragen, die allen Studierenden zur Verfügung stehen. Eine Minderung aus Pandemiegründen (etwa, wenn Sie aus dem Ausland online studieren) ist nicht möglich.

Für gebührenfinanzierte Studiengänge können abweichende Regelungen gelten. Nehmen Sie ggfs. Kontakt zur Studiengangskoordination an der Fakultät auf.

Die Immatrikulation an der Universität Göttingen ist ein volldigitaler, ortsunabhängiger Prozess. Nur in Ausnahmefällen müssen Originaldokumente zur Einschreibung vorgelegt werden. Detaillierte Informationen erhalten Sie per E-Mail im Rahmen des Einschreibungsprozesses.

Die Rücknahme der Immatrikulation mit Erstattung der gezahlten Semesterbeiträge ist bis einen Monat nach Vorlesungsbeginn möglich.

Die Mehrheit der Neuimmatrikulierten hat die Möglichkeit, sich mit den während des Bewerbungsprozesses erhaltenen Registrierungsdaten unter https://ecampus.uni-goettingen.de/account anzumelden und ein Passwort für den regulären Studierenden-Account zu setzen. Er kann von diesem Moment an für alle eCampus-Funktionen (Anmeldung zu Lehrveranstaltungen etc.) genutzt werden.

Das Portal erlaubt auch die Aufnahme eines Portraitfotos, das für die Chip-Karte genutzt wird. Auch für Internationale, die zunächst nicht einreisen können, wird die Produktion der Chip-Karte angestoßen, da erst mit der Produktion der Karte ein SUB-Nutzerkonto angelegt und freigeschaltet wird. Dieses erlaubt auch die Nutzung digitaler Bibliotheksressourcen.

Die produzierte Karte wird zwischengelagert, bis Sie sie in Empfang nehmen können. Die Lagerzeit ist nicht begrenzt.

Für manche Neuimmatrikulierten steht das Portal aus technischen Gründen nicht zur Verfügung. Erhalten Sie beim Versuch der Portalanmeldung eine Fehlermeldung, wenden Sie sich unter Angabe Ihres vollständigen Namens, Ihres Geburtsdatums und Ihrer Matrikelnummer an campussupport@uni-goettingen.de und beantragen Sie die Mitteilung Ihrer Account-Daten. Sie erhalten diese dann in einem verschlüsselten pdf-Dokument. Hängen Sie an Ihre E-Mail ein geeignetes Foto an, um auch die Produktion der Chip-Karte auszulösen. Sie können dann digitale Bibliotheksressourcen nutzen. Die Karte wird eingelagert, bis Sie sie vor Ort abholen können.

Das Wintersemester 2022/23 beginnt wie geplant am 01. Oktober 2022 und endet am 31. März 2023. Der Beginn der Vorlesungszeit ist aktuell der 24. Oktober 2022. Die Vorlesungszeit endet voraussichtlich am 10. Februar 2023.

Aktuell gilt im Covid-19-Stufenplan der Universität Göttingen die Stufe 0. Das bedeutet: Zurück zur Präsenz. Alle Kurse finden in Präsenz statt, Online- oder Hybridkurse sind nicht mehr möglich. Auch Laborpraktika und Exkursionen finden in Präsenz statt. Die 3G-Regel ist nicht mehr verpflichtend.

Die Bibliotheken sind geöffnet, Sie können dort alle Arbeitsplätze nutzen, und auch die Dienstleistungen stehen Ihnen in vollem Umfang zur Verfügung. Der Hochschulsport ist im Rahmen der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen erlaubt.

Alle aktuellen Informationen zum Lehrbetrieb an der Universität Göttingen, werden hier für Sie bereitgestellt.

Mit dem kostenlose Campus-Covid-Screen (CCS) können Sie sich dennoch weiterhin testen lassen.

Hier finden Sie Informationen zum Impf-Angebot der Universität Göttingen zum Wintersemester 2022/23.

II. Erhalt eines Visums, Einreise, Quarantäne und Selbstisolation, Situation vor Ort

Die Situation an den deutschen Botschaften und Konsulaten bleibt uneinheitlich und hängt vom Pandemiegeschehen vor Ort ab. Die Verfahren für die Beantragung von Visa, für die Wahrnehmung von Interview-Terminen und die Abholung erteilter Visa variieren stark. Informieren Sie sich zur aktuellen Situation auf der Website der jeweiligen Auslandsvertretung.

Die zwischenzeitlich nötige Bescheinigung, dass die physische Präsenz am Hochschulort unabdingbar ist, ist für Studierende nicht mehr erforderlich.

Die Einreise in die Europäische Union und nach Deutschland ist für Studierende grundsätzlich möglich.

Regelungen zur Einreise, zur Testpflicht und zur Quarantäne unterscheiden sich danach, wie das deutsche Robert-Koch-Institut das Land klassifiziert, aus dem Sie einreisen: Gebiete, die nicht als Virusvariantengebiete klassifiziert sind;

Virusvariantengebiete sind solche Länder oder Landesteile, in denen Mutationen des SARS-CoV-2-Virus aufgetreten sind.

Im Folgenden gelten als Geimpfte Personen, die bis 14 Tage vor Einreise vollständig mit einem Impfstoff gegen das neuartige Coronavirus geimpft wurden, der in der Europäischen Union zugelassen ist. Lizenzproduktionen in der Europäischen Union zugelassener Impfstoffe, die unter anderem Handelsnamen vertrieben werden, gelten als gleichwertig und werden akzeptiert.

Genesene gelten als vollständig geimpft, wenn sie neben dem Genesenennachweis eine Dosis eines in der Europäischen Union zugelassenen Impfstoffs erhalten haben.

Als Genesene gelten Personen, die einen ärztlichen Nachweis über eine frühere Infektion mit dem neuartigen Corona-Virus und einen negativen PCR-Test vorlegen können, der nicht älter als 90 Tage und nicht jünger als 28 Tage ist.

  • EINREISE AUS LÄNDERN, DIE NICHT ALS VIRUSVARIANTENGEBIETE KLASSIFIZIERT SIND

Bis 31. Januar 2023 gelten keine Einschränkungen.

  • EINREISE AUS VIRUSVARIANTENGEBIETEN

Die Einreise aus Virusvariantengebieten ist für vollständig geimpfte Studierende und Wissenschaftler*innen möglich. Es gelten besonders scharfe Regelungen:

Vor der Einreise müssen Sie sich online registrieren. Wenn Sie sich nicht online registrieren konnten, müssen Sie bei Einreise ein entsprechendes Formular ausfüllen. Transportunternehmen sind verpflichtet, diese Registrierung vor der Abreise zu prüfen.

Sie müssen schon vor der Abreise einen negativen PCR-Test vorlegen. Der Test darf bei Einreise nicht älter als 48 Stunden sein. Schnelltests werden nicht akzeptiert. Dies gilt für Einreisen auf dem Luft-, See- oder Landweg. Impfnachweise oder Genesenennachweise werden nicht akzeptiert.

Nach Ankunft besteht eine Pflicht zur 14-tägigen Selbstisolation. Eine Option auf Verkürzung der Selbstisolation durch eine zweite Testung vor Ort besteht nicht. Dies gilt auch für Geimpfte oder Genesene.

  • FALLS EINE INFEKTION FESTGESTELLT WIRD

Wird eine Infektion festgestellt, wird das Gesundheitsamt eine häusliche Quarantäne verhängen. Diese dauert an, bis Symptomfreiheit vorliegt und in der Regel zwei aufeinander folgende Tests negativ ausfallen. Die Quarantäne ist strikt einzuhalten; Verstöße werden mit Bußgeldern von bis zu 3.000€ geahndet. Je nach Schwere Ihrer Erkrankung kann ärztliche Behandlung zuhause oder die Einweisung in ein Krankenhaus erforderlich werden. Diese Maßnahmen werden vom Gesundheitsamt Göttingen für Sie organisiert. Wenn Sie an COVID-19 erkranken, werden in der Regel alle Kosten für die Heilbehandlung von Ihrer Krankenkasse getragen.

Während der Quarantäne können Sie Lieferservices nutzen, um sich mit Lebensmitteln zu versorgen. Studierende und Mitarbeitende der Universität werden Sie im Notfall unterstützen (s. unten, Lieferservices).

Für die Versorgung während Selbstisolation oder Quarantäne stehen Ihnen Lieferdienste zur Verfügung, die haltbare Lebensmittel und Drogerieartikel per Post zu Ihnen liefern. Auch frische Lebensmittel sind mit Einschränkungen über Lieferdienste zu erhalten.

Entsprechende Adressen finden Sie in einer Handreichung, die wir für Sie zusammengestellt haben.

In dieser Facebook-Gruppe bieten Helfer*innen vor Ort, während der Zeit der Selbstisolation, Unterstützung an.

Trinkwasser müssen Sie sich nicht liefern lassen: Das Leitungswasser in Deutschland hat in der Regel eine bessere Qualität als viele Produkte aus dem Supermarkt und kann bedenkenlos getrunken werden.

Die Anmeldung bei der Stadt Göttingen ist aktuell nur nach vorheriger Terminvereinbarung via Online-Formular möglich. Die übliche 14tägige Frist für die Anmeldung bei der Stadt ist suspendiert, Sie sollten sich aber um einen möglichst zeitnahen Termin bemühen. Für die Anmeldung benötigen Sie Ihren Pass sowie eine „Wohnungsgeberbestätigung“, ein Formular, das Ihr Vermieter für Sie auszufüllen hat.

Die Ausländerbehörde Göttingen ist nur eingeschränkt zugänglich. Nehmen Sie vor Stellen eines Erstantrags auf Erteilung einer Aufenthaltserlaubnis telefonisch oder per E-Mail Kontakt auf.

Aktuelle Informationen zur Situation in Deutschland stellt das Robert Koch-Institut zur Verfügung. Sie erhalten hier detaillierte Informationen für die Stadt Göttingen sowie zu den einzelnen Landkreisen, auch zum Landkreis Göttingen.

Ausführliche Hinweise zum Schutz vor Infektionen in Alltagssituationen finden Sie hier. Die wichtigsten Grundregeln bleiben:

  • Beschränken Sie Kontakte zu Personen, die nicht zum eigenen Haushalt gehören, auf ein Minimum.
  • Halten Sie zu Personen in der Öffentlichkeit einen Mindestabstand von 1,5 Metern, bei körperlicher Betätigung und Sport im Freien von 2 Metern.
  • Beachten Sie allgemeine Hygieneregeln: Niesen und husten Sie konsequent in die Armbeuge, waschen Sie sich regelmäßig für mindestens 20 Sekunden die Hände.
  • Tragen Sie in öffentlichen Einrichtungen (auch in Geschäften und auf Märkten) und in öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln medizinische Schutzmasken der Klassen FFP2/KN95.
  • Zusammenkünfte in der Öffentlichkeit oder in Ihren Privaträumen sind nur in engen Grenzen erlaubt.

Diese Regelungen werden hier erläutert und spezifiziert. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Verstöße gegen Infektionsschutzrichtlininen mit Bußgeldern von bis zu 25.000€ geahndet werden können.

Die Universität Göttingen hat ein eigenes Hygienekonzept zum Infektionsschutz aufgestellt. Informieren Sie sich hier zu aktuell gültigen Regelungen.

Beachten Sie besonders , dass der Zugang zu Lehrveranstaltungen in Präsenz auf Geimpfte, Genesene und Getestete beschränkt ist. Der CampusCovidScreen bietet eine kostenlose Testmöglichkeit auf dem Campus.

Die Beratungseinrichtungen der Universität stehen Ihnen telefonisch, per E-Mail und in Videokonferenzen zur Verfügung.

Internationale mit deutscher Meldeadresse haben einen Anspruch auf kostenfreie Impfung gegen das neuartige Coronavirus. Dies schließt Booster-Impfungen mit ein. Die Impfung kann von Allgemeinmediziner*innen vorgenommen werden.

Hier finden Sie Informationen zum Impf-Angebot der Universität Göttingen zum Wintersemester 2022/23.

Weiterhin stellt die Stadt Göttingen eine Übersicht aller Impfmöglichkeiten in Göttingen und im Landkreis Göttingen zur Verfügung.

Personen, die mit einem in der Europäischen Union nicht zugelassenen Impfstoff geimpft wurden, gelten in Deutschland als Ungeimpfte. Sie können frühestens 28 Tage nach Abschluss der ersten Impfserie eine weitere vollständige Impfserie mit einem in der Europäischen Union zugelassenen mRNA-Impfstoff erhalten, um den Status ‚geimpft‘ zu erlangen. Eine ausführliche Beratung und Impfungen bieten Allgemeinmediziner*innen an.

Impf- und Genesenennachweise, die in der Europäischen Union ausgestellt wurden, können in der CovPass-App abgelegt werden. Apotheken stellen die nötigen QR-Codes zur Verfügung. Personen, die in Nicht EU- oder EWR-Staaten mit in der EU zugelassenen Impfstoffen geimpft wurden, können diese QR-Codes in der Regel ebenfalls erhalten, wenn sie eine zureichende Impfdokumentation vorlegen können. Apotheken, die routiniert mit solchen Impfnachweisen umgehen, finden Sie am Waldweg oder am Humboldtbogen.

Info-Videos in 13 Sprachen zum Thema: Corona-Tests und Impfung


Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Persönliche Sprechstunden:
Mo 10-12 Uhr und Mi 14-16 Uhr

Hotline-Internationale Studierende und Bewerber*innen

+49 551/39 27777


Telefonische Sprechstunden:
Mo - Fr 9 - 12 Uhr

Kontakt


Lageplan


Find us on Facebook