The regional desk of Europe, Georgia, Israel, Russia and Turkey

The regional desk for Europe, Russia, Israel, Georgia and Turkey is responsible for maintaining and developing academic cooperation in the respective regions. The collaboration ranges from bilateral relations with partner universities to third-party-funded programs (DAAD East Partnership Programme, DAAD-Go East-Programm, Erasmus + Key Action 107-Programm) as well as joint activities and science policy events in European university networks (U4Society, The Guild, Coimbra Group and European University Association). In 2020, the University of Göttingen became a “European University” when nine partners in the ENLIGHT network successfully applied to the EU’s “European Universities Initiative”. In 2017, the regional desk also successfully submitted a proposal for a capacity-building project “Structured Education – Quality Assurance – Freedom to Think” with Georgia to the Volkswagen Foundation as well as the Shota Rustaveli National Science Foundation of Georgia. The project goal is to implement the Lehmann-Haupt International Doctoral Program and to set up the International Doctoral School at Ilia State University, Tbilisi, Georgia.