Private housing

Please start searching for an accommodation as early as possible and do not underestimate the time and effort it takes to find a room! Accommodation offers are usually made public 2-3 months at the earliest before the room or apartment becomes available.

Please note that finding an accommodation in Germany is a bit like searching for a job. It’s advisable to write more than “I want the room”. Some tips on how to “apply” for a room on the private housing market can be found here.

Private landlords offer rooms and apartments for rent. Most rooms are not furnished, so please always double check if any furniture is included. Sublease agreements (Zwischenmiete) usually include furniture.

Websites for searching accommodation

When looking for private accommodation in Göttingen and the surrounding areas you can find lots of offers online. Most common websites for finding accommodation are:

Facebook groups for finding accommodation

There are several Facebook groups you can use to search for accommodation. Some were specifically created for the accommodation search in Göttingen. The members of the groups can give helpful tips.

Rooms are also advertised on the notice board located close to the Central Cafeteria (Zentral Mensa) in the main lecture hall building (ZHG).

Buying furniture | used (second-hand)

If you are renting a place without furniture, you need to buy furniture. Therefore, it can sometimes be helpful to fall back on cheaper, used ones (second hand). Below you will find a small selection of suppliers of used furniture and goods:

Buying furniture | new

In the northern part of Göttingen (Lutteranger / Große Breite) you will find several large furniture stores, where you can buy all necessary furniture. There is also an IKEA in Kassel, about 50 km away.

Shared apartments (Wohngemeinschaft, or WG) are popular among students. A WG is a living arrangement in which several people share the lease costs for a flat. Each person has his/her own bedroom, whereas the kitchen and bathroom are shared.

The number of people living together in a flat-share can vary. There are flat-shares of only two people but there are also houses in which there are eight to ten people living together.

The rent usually depends on the location of the flat, the number of flatmates and the size of the room/apartment. You will be expected to participate in cleaning duties, as well as maintaining your own space in an orderly fashion.

It might be helpful to know how the allocation of rooms in WGs work and what matters most when applying for a room: Some advice on how to apply for a flatshare

Don’t be surprised if your potential future roommates ask you lots of questions! They are just trying to get to know you and find out if you would fit into their WG life.

And a list of the terms used in housing offers can be found here.

With a single room in a private house you have your own furnished room in a flat or house, often let by a family. Kitchen and bathroom are most often used communally; rarely with en suite bathrooms or separate kitchens or kitchenettes are available. Some form of socializing with the family/landlord may be expected, as well as chores (light cleaning tasks, for instance) in addition to maintaining your own space in an orderly fashion.

You will have your own room with bathroom and a kitchenette. The monthly rent for a studio apartment is between 400 and 600 €. It is more challenging to find an apartment than a room in a shared flat, especially if your budget is limited. If you are already in Göttingen, you could reach out to a Hausverwaltung (property management). The most firm by students is: Göttinger Hausverwaltung

Flats with multiple rooms, whether furnished or unfurnished, are challenging to find.

Contact:

The International Office
Incoming Office
Accommodation Service

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Office Hours:
Mondays 10-12 h

Julia Zimmer
Accommodation service for international students

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Email: accommodation@uni-goettingen.de
Phone: 0551 39-21790

Helena Hoffmann
Accommodation service for international exchange students

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Email: accommodation@uni-goettingen.de
Phone: 0551 39-21338

Privater Wohnungsmarkt

Bitte beginnen Sie mit der Zimmersuche so früh wie möglich und unterschätzen Sie nicht die Zeit und den Aufwand für eine erfolgreiche Suche. Unterkunftsangebote werden in der Regel frühestens 2-3 Monate vor ihrer Verfügbarkeit veröffentlicht.

Bitte seien Sie sich bewusst, dass die Suche nach einer Unterkunft in Deutschland ein wenig einer Jobsuche gleicht. Es ist ratsam, mehr als „Ich möchte das Zimmer“ zu schreiben. Einige Tipps zur “Bewerbung” um ein Zimmer auf dem privaten Markt finden Sie hier.

Private Vermieter*innen bieten Zimmer und Wohnungen zur Miete an. Die meisten Zimmer sind nicht möbliert, deshalb ist es ratsam immer zu überprüfen, ob Möbel vorhanden sind. Zwischenmietverträge beinhalten meist Möbel.


Webseiten für die Wohnungssuche

Bei der Suche nach einer privaten Unterkunft in Göttingen und Umgebung finden Sie online viele Angebote.

Die meist verwendeten Internet-Seiten zur Wohnungssuche sind:


Facebook-Gruppen für die Wohnungssuche

Es gibt auch einige Facebook Gruppen, die Sie bei der Suche nach einer Unterkunft unterstützen. Einige wurden sogar extra für diesen Zweck eingerichtet. Die Mitglieder der Gruppen können hilfreiche Tipps geben.

Zimmerangebote sind auch am Schwarzen Brett in der Nähe des Cafés im Zentralen Hörsaalgebäude (ZHG) zu finden.


Möbel kaufen | gebraucht

Wenn Sie eine unmöblierte Wohnung mieten, müssen Sie Möbel kaufen. Da kann es manchmal hilfreich sein, auf günstigere, gebrauchte zurückzugreifen. Nachfolgend finden Sie eine kleine Auswahl an Anbietern von gebrauchten Möbeln und Gebrauchtwaren:

Möbel kaufen | neu

Im Norden von Göttingen gibt es mehrere Möbelhäuser, wo man neue Möbel kaufen kann. Außerdem gibt es in Kassel IKEA (ein sehr beliebtes Möbelhaus), ca. 50 km von Göttingen entfernt.

Wohngemeinschaften (WGs) sind beliebt unter Studierenden. Eine WG ist eine Wohnform, in der sich mehrere Menschen die Kosten für eine Wohnung teilen. In WGs haben Sie ein eigenes Zimmer, nutzen aber Küche und Bad gemeinsam mit Ihren Mitbewohnenden.

Die Anzahl der in einer Wohngemeinschaft zusammenlebenden Personen kann variieren. Es gibt WGs mit zwei, aber auch mit bis zu zehn Personen.

Die Höhe der Miete ist von der Lage der WG, der Anzahl der Mitbewohnenden und der Größe des Zimmers/der Wohnung abhängig. Alle WG-Bewohner sind gleichermaßen und gemeinsam dafür verantwortlich die gemeinschaftlich genutzten Räume ordentlich und sauber zu halten, ebenso wie jeder für seinen eigenen Wohnbereich zuständig ist.

Hilfreiche Tipps zur Bewerbung um ein WG-Zimmer sowie Informationen hierzu finden Sie hier.

Seinen Sie nicht überrascht, wenn Ihre zukünftigen Mitbewohnenden viele Fragen stellen! Sie möchten Sie nur kennen lernen und herausfinden, ob Sie in ihr WG-Leben passen würden.

Eine Übersicht der Begriffe, die in den Wohnungsangeboten verwendet werden, finden Sie hier.

In einer Privatwohnung/-haus haben Sie ein möbliertes Einzelzimmer mit gemeinschaftlich genutztem Bad und Küche. Manchmal haben Sie die Möglichkeit, am Leben der Vermieterfamilie teilzuhaben. Manche Zimmer werden mit eigenem Bad und Küchenzeile angeboten. In einigen Fällen wird erwartet, dass Sie sich, über die Pflege des eigenen Raumes hinaus, an kleineren Hausarbeiten beteiligen.

Sie haben eine abgeschlossene Wohnung mit eigenem Bad und Kochnische. Die Monatsmiete für ein Apartment liegt zwischen 400 und 600 €, zuweilen auch darüber. Apartments sind schwieriger zu finden als ein Zimmer in einer Wohngemeinschaft, zumal dann, wenn Ihr Budget begrenzt ist. Wenn Sie bereits in Göttingen sind, können Sie sich an eine Hausverwaltung wenden. Eine von Studierenden häufig kontaktierte Hausverwaltung, die eine größere Zahl von Apartments verwaltet, ist die Göttinger Hausverwaltung

Möblierte und unmöblierte Mehrzimmerwohnungen sind sehr schwierig zu finden.



Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Incoming Office
Accommodation Service

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Persönliche Sprechstunden
(finden zur Zeit nicht statt!)
Mo und Mi 10-12 Uhr

Christin Leistner
Wohnraumservice für internationale
Studierende


Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

E-Mail: accommodation@uni-goettingen.de
Telefon: 0551 39-21790

Helena Hoffmann
Wohnraumservice für internationale Austauschstudierende

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

E-Mail: accommodation@uni-goettingen.de
Telefon: 0551 39-21338