Committees and Commissions

On this page you will find information about the committees of the faculty. In addition to content-related descriptions of the tasks and functions of the regularly meeting bodies and commissions and the other bodies, you will find the current meeting dates, the current committee members and access to SharePoint (internal).


The faculty council fundamentally deals with issues relating to research and teaching. The faculty council participates in discussions regarding changes to courses and the establishment of regulations. The faculty council plays a special role when it comes to the economic distribution of faculty resources and when important personnel decisions (appointments, etc.) are pending. Before a decision is made by the faculty council, recommendations from the dean's office, the structure, budget and planning commission and the study commission are accepted in all cases. The faculty council consists of 13 members, who are elected from the groups of university teachers, scientific staff and students. The chairperson is the dean of the faculty, but without voting rights. The faculty council usually meets once a month during the lecture period.
A study commission can be delegated individual decisions by the faculty council. Before any decision is made by the faculty council in matters of study, teaching and examinations, the study commission must be consulted. The regular areas of responsibility include advising and deciding on the use of the faculty's decentralized study quality funds, discussing changes to modules and regulations, and general discussion of changing subject areas in the area of study and teaching. The faculty study committees are made up equally of the group of students and the group of teachers. At least one member must belong to the professors' group and at least one member must belong to the employees' group. The Presidential Board determines how many members a study commission has. The Study Commission usually meets once a month during the lecture period. The chairperson is the dean of studies of the faculty, but without voting rights.
In addition to the Dean's Office, the Faculty Council and the Study Commission, the Faculty Budget and Planning Commission (FHPK) is also involved in coordinating the budget and the staff. The committees support the faculty council in its decision-making process by making recommendations. The commission consists of members of the group of university teachers, employees and students. The final decision is then made by the faculty council. The FHPK usually meets once a month during the lecture period. The chairperson is the finance dean of the faculty, but without voting rights.


A selection committee deals with the selection process in the application process for the individual courses. The faculty currently has three selection committees. One commission deals with the applications in the BSc course in Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology. The other two deal with the master’s degree programs in Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology, as well as Forest and Ecosystem Sciences. The main tasks of the selection committees are checking the accuracy of non-subject degrees ("technical relevance") in the application process, conducting selection interviews in the master's application process, and coordinating the ranking lists. The selection committees are made up of two university lecturers, two research assistants and one student representative.
The examination committee of the Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology deals with the content of the examination. These include, among other things, decisions on applications for hardship in various contexts with the examinations, decisions on the final failure of students or applications for disadvantage compensation. The examination committee is made up of three university lecturers, one research assistant and one student.