Memberships & community services

German Soil Science Society (DBG)
-> President Elect (01/2024-12/2025)
-> Vice President (01/2020-12/2021 and 01/2022-12/2023)
-> DBG Working Group on Soil Taxonomy (appointed member)
-> DBG Working Group on Paleopedology (member)

International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS)
-> IUSS Commission on Paleopedology (Chair 2010-2018)
-> IUSS Commission on Soil Morphology and Micromorphology
-> IUSS Working Group on the World Reference Base for Soil Resources (WRB)

European Geosciences Union (EGU)
-> Chair of Subdivision 'Soils as Records in Time and Space' 2016-2018

German Union for Quaternary Research (DEUQUA)
-> Board member 2008-2022

International Union for Quaternary Research (INQUA)
-> since 2020: Co-Leader of Focus Group HYPEDAE = Palaeohydrological, -pedological and -aeolian processes shaping Quaternary landscapes
-> 2016-2019: Leader of Focus Group QUASAP = Quaternary Soils and Paleosols
-> 2012-2015: Leader of Focus Group PASTSOILS = Paleosol and soil analysis for assessing climate, time and duration of land surface stability of Quaternary terrestrial systems

Founding member of the German Society for Geomorphology