Diversity strategy University Göttingen

Diversity strategy

Equal opportunities for all and protection against discrimination – this was laid down by the University of Göttingen in 2016 in its Diversity Strategy. The aim is to support all members and employees of the University to develop their abilities to the best of their potential and to be successful in their studies or profession. The strategy was developed with the participation of all areas and interest groups of the University and discussed in all relevant committees. It forms the basis for the diversity-oriented further development of the University.

"With our diversity strategy, we are facing up to the challenges of societal change and strengthening the University of Göttingen's future viability," Prof. Dr Andrea D. Bührmann, Vice President in charge of the University of Göttingen, explains. "In connection with diversity research at the University, it forms a very good basis for our application in the Excellence Strategy of the Federal Government and the Federal States.

"For us, the development of the diversity strategy was the next logical step on the way to a diversity-compatible organisational structure and culture," Dr Doris Hayn, Head of the University's Equal Opportunities and Diversity Unit, states. In implementing the diversity strategy, the focus is on combining, further systematising and synchronising the numerous measures and activities that have emerged in the field in recent years.

Charter of Diversity

On Diversity Day 2015, the University of Göttingen signed the "Charter of Diversity" (“Charta der Vielfalt”). The University thus undertakes to create a working environment that is free of prejudice. In accordance with the Charter of Diversity, it aims to value all members and employees of the University – irrespective of gender, nationality, ethnic origin, religion or belief, disability, age, sexual orientation and identity. It recognises that executives have a special obligation to do so.

"Diversity and equality are already embedded as important elements in our strategy," says the President of the University, Prof. Beisiegel. "An organisational culture characterised by mutual respect and esteem for all should characterise a modern and forward-looking university today. By signing the Charter of Diversity, we are demonstrating that we are determined to continue along this path."

"The signing of the Charter of Diversity is an important step because it makes the numerous activities and measures established at the University at both central and decentralised levels more visible to the outside world," says Dr Doris Hayn, the University's Equal Opportunities Officer. "The signing is at the same time a call and a mandate to everyone to take a more targeted approach to the diversity-conscious shaping of the University".

As part of the implementation of the Charter of Diversity, the University participates with its own events in the annual nationwide Diversity Day. As an engaged university it has an impact beyond its own boundaries. Since 2016, the University and the City of Göttingen have been using Diversity Day for exchange and networking, thus demonstrating their joint commitment to a diversity-oriented structural and cultural change.

Diversitätsstrategie und Charta der Vielfalt

Diversitätsstrategie

Gleiche Chancen für alle und Schutz vor Diskriminierung – dies hat die Universität Göttingen 2016 in ihrer Diversitätsstrategie festgeschrieben. Ziel ist es, alle Mitglieder und Angehörige der Universität darin zu unterstützen, ihre Fähigkeiten bestmöglich zu entfalten und im Studium oder Beruf erfolgreich zu sein. Die Strategie wurde mit Beteiligung aller Bereiche und Interessengruppen der Universität entwickelt und in allen relevanten Gremien diskutiert. Sie bildet die Grundlage der diversitätsorientierten Weiterentwicklung der Universität.

„Mit unserer Diversitätsstrategie stellen wir uns den Herausforderungen des gesellschaftlichen Wandels und stärken die Zukunftsfähigkeit der Universität Göttingen“, erläutert die zuständige Vizepräsidentin Prof. Dr. Andrea D. Bührmann. „In Verbindung mit der Diversitätsforschung an der Universität bildet sie eine sehr gute Grundlage für unsere Bewerbung in der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder.“

„Die Entwicklung der Diversitätsstrategie war für uns der nächste folgerichtige Schritt auf dem Weg zu einer diversitätsgerechten Organisationsstruktur und -kultur“, erklärt Dr. Doris Hayn, Leiterin der Stabsstelle Chancengleichheit und Diversität der Universität. Bei der Umsetzung der Diversitätsstrategie liegt der Schwerpunkt darauf, die zahlreichen Maßnahmen und Aktivitäten, die in den vergangenen Jahren auf dem Gebiet entstanden sind, zu bündeln, stärker zu systematisieren und zu synchronisieren.

Charta der Vielfalt

Die Universität Göttingen hat am bundesweiten Diversity Tag 2015 die "Charta der Vielfalt" unterzeichnet. Die Universität verpflichtet sich damit, ein Arbeitsumfeld zu schaffen, das frei von Vorurteilen ist. Sie strebt im Sinne der Charta der Vielfalt an, alle Mitglieder und Angehörigen der Universität wertzuschätzen - unabhängig von Geschlecht, Nationalität, ethnischer Herkunft, Religion oder Weltanschauung, Behinderung, Alter, sexueller Orientierung und Identität. Sie erkennt an, dass Führungskräften dabei eine besondere Verpflichtung zukommt.

„Diversität und Gleichstellung sind bereits als wichtige Elemente in unserer Strategie verankert“, so die Präsidentin der Universität, Prof. Beisiegel. „Eine Organisationskultur, die von gegenseitigem Respekt und Wertschätzung aller geprägt ist, sollte eine moderne und zukunftsgewandte Universität heute auszeichnen. Mit der Unterzeichnung der Charta der Vielfalt zeigen wir, dass wir unseren Weg in diese Richtung konsequent weitergehen wollen.“

„Die Unterzeichnung der Charta der Vielfalt ist ein wichtiger Schritt, weil sie die zahlreichen Aktivitäten und Maßnahmen, die auf zentraler und dezentraler Ebene an der Universität etabliert sind, nach außen sichtbarer macht“, sagt Dr. Doris Hayn, Gleichstellungsbeauftragte der Universität. „Die Unterzeichnung ist zugleich Aufruf und Auftrag an alle, sich der diversitätsgerechten Gestaltung der Universität noch gezielter anzunehmen.“

Im Rahmen der Umsetzung der Charta der Vielfalt beteiligt sich die Universität mit eigenen Veranstaltungen am jährlich stattfindenden bundesweiten Diversity Tag. Als „engaged university“ wirkt sie dabei über die Grenzen der Universität hinaus: Seit 2016 nutzen Universität und Stadt Göttingen den Diversity Tag für Austausch und Vernetzung und machen damit ihr gemeinsames Engagement für einen diversitätsorientierten Struktur- und Kulturwandel deutlich.