Setting up a Study Plan

The academic calender year

The study year is divided into two semesters, a winter and a summer semester, each lasting six months. The academic year begins in winter semester (October 1st to March 31st). The semester is divided up into lecture periods and lecture-free periods. The lecture period in winter semester lasts for approximately four months (middle of October until the middle of February), and in summer semester three months (middle of April until the middle of July). Lecture periods are followed by a two week examination period, in which tests and oral exams are carried out. The lecture free period is designed to provide students with time for independent study, to write papers, conduct internships and carry out similar study related matters.


Study Organisation

Your studies are divided into modules: study units that are comprised of various courses that are thematically related (e.g. a lecture course and a seminar). In order to successfully complete a module, you must complete the workload required, which is reflected in the number of credit points (ECTS) assigned to the module. One credit point corresponds to a workload of approx. 30 hours. This includes studying time and follow-up work, course attendance, preparation for and taking exams. Credit points are first transferred to your study account once the module has been entirely completed.

Types of Courses and Examinations

During your studies you will attend various types of courses. These courses often supplement one another and have different didactical purposes in order to provide students with teaching and learning concepts in a fashion most ideally suited for learning.


  • Introduction/ Propaedeutic course/Basic course
  • A propaedeutic is offered at the beginning of your studies and is often a prerequisite before attending an undergraduate seminar. It aims to provide basic knowledge on a subject matter, which is later built upon in more advanced courses. A propaedeutic is usually finished up with an exam, a term paper or a presentation.


  • Lecture
  • A lecture provides a systematic overview of a larger topic and is most often held by a professor. The professor may direct questions to the audience, but in general, the professor presents the information to the students and does not engage in any discussions on the subject matter. In very large lectures - especially in compulsory courses – as many as several hundred students may attend. Lectures are often followed up by a written exam.


  • Practical exercise
  • A practical exercise serves as a follow-up course in order to review and implement exercises which were discussed in a lecture or seminar. It aims to convey special skills by working on and discussing exemplary tasks and materials. The number of participants is usually limited to 20.


  • Tutorial
  • A tutorial accompanies a basic course, a seminar or a lecture, in which contents are reviewed and analysed further. In addition, tips are often provided on exam content. Upper level students, known as tutors, often carry out the tutorials. The number of participants is limited and the atmosphere is more informal, so that students are encouraged to ask more questions. Participation in a tutorial is usually voluntary, but can also be required.


  • Undergraduate seminar
  • Undergraduate seminars are provided to undergraduate students as an introduction to academic queries and techniques. Students actively participate in the teaching process by discussing course content, participating in group work and making presentations. Proseminars usually require students to complete a term paper or make a presentation in order to earn credits.


  • Seminar
  • A seminar provides an in-depth discussion of concepts and methods to a limited number of students who have already acquired basic knowledge and competencies in prior courses. It deals with more complex academic topics and is often accompanied by self-study. Active participation in discussions, group work and presentations are required.


  • Advanced seminar
  • Upper-level or graduate seminars are designed for students who have acquired advanced knowledge and skills on more complex academic topics of study. These courses often require that students write their own short paper or complete an academic study on a particular topic.


  • Oberseminar
  • Advanced seminars provide more in-depth course content to students in the final phase of their studies, often when completing the Master's degree. Participation may be obligatory for students writing their final thesis (known as colloqiums), but may also be optional or by invitation only. Often times, student theses and their results are presented as part of the course.


  • Internship
  • An internship provides subject-related, practical knowledge and skills, in which experimental work is carried out by students under supervision. Internships can be carried out at universities (e.g. within a lab), in businesses, in public or private institutions in Germany or abroad depending on what the study and exam regulations require.


  • Repetitorium
  • A repetitorium is a course that reviews teaching and learning contents during the course of one’s studies in order to prepare students for a (final) exam.



Types of Examinations

Examinations most often correspond with the completion of modules. They are regularly carried out during a two week period following the final days of lectures. Examinations that were not successfully completed during your studies can usually be repeated twice. Final papers or degree theses may only be repeated once.

In general, types of examinations are often determined by course types and teaching and learning contents related to modules. Further information about the type of examination, how they are to be carried out and graded are explained by instructors at the beginning of each semester.


  • Exam
  • The written exam aims to test a students’ basic knowledge of a subject matter, and is generally used in introductory courses. By implementing openly formulated questions in essay form or closed questions with multiple-choice answers, exams are usually carried out within a fixed time frame. The exact layout and level of difficulty is determined by the lecturers. Sometimes several questions are asked and the students can choose which questions to answer. Whether aids are allowed and which aids can be used is generally made known before the exam (skills required: technical and methodical competence).


  • Term paper
  • The term paper is one of the most common forms of examination. Students are assigned a topic limited in focus and directly related to the course subject matter which is to be worked on in accordance with scientific and/or academic methodology. The term paper requires a preliminary survey of the state of research: research of relevant secondary literature using subject-specific aids (bibliographies), a review of the secondary literature, and correct excerpting. The aim is to develop a line of argumentation with respect to a central question, using methodological tools and supported by references. The term paper does not require the development of 'new' knowledge, but implementing a methodically guided process of evaluating the state of knowledge on the topic in question. The special value of the term paper results from the fact that the state of knowledge on the subject is adequately prepared and presented and meets professional requirements. Term papers are longer in scope, require good self-organisational skills and work discipline (skills required: technical, methodological and self-organisational competence).


  • Project/Seminar paper
  • Through project work and presentations, students are expected to demonstrate their ability to work in a team, and to develop and present different concepts together with their group members. They should show that they are able to define goals, develop solutions and concepts, and implement these within the framework of a larger task. If the work takes place as group work, the contribution of the individual must be clearly outlined and assessable.


  • Tutorials
  • Tutorials often accompany a lecture or take place on their own. They may include practical exercises as a form of preliminary, examination work. Once completed, the student is then admitted to take part in the written exam. Some tutorials are designed as group or home exercises. Group exercises are created to promote interactions as a group so that participants arrive at solutions together, whereas home exercises are designed for individuals to develop solutions on one’s own (skills required: technical competence, social competence).


  • Presentation
  • Presentations focus on a specific academic topic that is then presented to other students in the course, either alone or as a group assignment. The criteria for evaluation should be laid out by the instructor in advance, e.g. clarity, structure, and content, etc. (skills required: technical, methodological, social and self-competence).


Study portal eCampus

eCampus is a potal for students in Göttingen and a central entry point for online digital services in order to help you to organize your studies. Self-service functions, FlexNow, Stud.IP and UniVZ are all available via the eCampus platform.


UniVZ

UniVZ is an online registry of courses and people at the university. It also provides answers to the following questions:

  • Which courses are on offer?
  • Who is teaching the courses?
  • Where and when does the course take place?

Stud.IP

Stud.IP is an Open Source Lerning management system, which helps you to administer and participate in your courses. Stud.IP provides documentation for all courses that are available in the current course catalogue (with the exception of the medical studies program). You can download and share study materials, discuss course contents and create your own materials. Virtual teaching contents are also generally accessible through Stud.IP.

In order to use all of its functions, you will need to register with and login to Stud.IP. You will need the user name and password that was provided to you by the university. The user name and password are the same that you used for your student email account and FlexNow.


FlexNow Exam Administration

The online administration of your examination results for the Bachelor and Master Study Programs is carried out by FlexNow. With FlexNow you are able to register and deregister for examinations, to check your grades and credit points and it provides you with a summary (PDF-File) of all of your without having to visit the Examination Office. Once you have registered, you will receive notifications via Email, such as when examination results are available for review.

Contact:

The International Office
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Personal Office Hours:
Mon and Wed 10-12 h

Hotline-International students and applicants


+49 551/39 27777


Calling Hours:
Mon - Fri 9 - 12 h

Contact


Map


Find us on Facebook

Stundenplan erstellen

Akademischer Kalender

Das Studienjahr besteht aus einem Winter- und einem Sommersemester, das jeweils sechs Monate dauert. Das akademische Jahr beginnt mit dem Wintersemester (01. Oktober bis 31. März). Innerhalb eines Semesters gibt es Vorlesungszeiten sowie Vorlesungsfreie Zeiten. Die Vorlesungszeit im Wintersemester dauert in der Regel rund vier Monate (Mitte Oktober bis Mitte Februar), im Sommersemester rund drei Monate (Mitte April bis Mitte Juli). An die Vorlesungszeiten kann sich eine zweiwöchige Prüfungsphase anschließen, in der Klausuren und mündliche Prüfungen abgehalten werden. Die Vorlesungsfreie Zeit ist für das Selbststudium, Haus- und Abschlussarbeiten, Praktika und ähnliche Leistungen vorgesehen.


Studienaufbau

Ihr Studium ist in Module unterteilt: Studieneinheiten, die sich aus mehreren, oft thematisch aufeinander bezogenen Lehrveranstaltungen zusammensetzen (z. B. aus einer Vorlesung und einem Seminar). Der für den erfolgreichen Abschluss eines Moduls vorzusehende Arbeitsaufwand ist an den vergebenen Leistungspunkten (ECTS) abzulesen: Ein Leistungspunkt entspricht einem Arbeitsaufwand von rund 30 Stunden. Dabei sind Vor- und Nachbereitung, Präsenzlehre, Prüfungsvorbereitung und Prüfung eingeschlossen. Leistungspunkte werden Ihrem Studienkonto erst dann gutgeschrieben, wenn Sie in Modul vollständig absolviert haben.

Lehrveranstaltungstypen

Im Rahmen Ihres Studium werden Ihnen unterschiedliche Typen von Lehrveranstaltungen begegnen. Sie folgen unterschiedlichen didaktischen Zwecken und ergänzen sich im Sinne der optimalen Vermittlung der Lehr- und Lerninhalte.


  • Einführungen/ Propädeutika/Grundkurse
  • Einführungskurse werden am Anfang des Studiums angeboten und gelten oft als Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme an Proseminaren. Sie vermitteln für den weiteren Studienverlauf unentbehrliche Grundkenntnisse. Zu beachten ist, dass unterschiedliche Fächer zum Teil unterschiedliche Bezeichnungen für ihre Grund- oder Einführungskurse benutzen. Als Prüfungsform ist in der Regel eine Klausur, eine Hausarbeit oder ein Referat vorgesehen.


  • Vorlesungen
  • Vorlesungen geben meist einen systematisch gegliederten Überblick über ein größeres Thema. Sie werden in der Regel von Professor*innen gehalten. Eine Diskussion zwischen vortragender Lehrkraft und Studierenden ist eher selten, Fragen an das Plenum und ein kurzer Austausch kommen aber vor. In sehr großen Vorlesungen – vor allem bei Pflichtveranstaltungen – können mehrere hundert Studierende an einer Vorlesung teilnehmen. Als Leistungsnachweis wird in der Regel eine Klausur geschrieben.


  • Übung
  • Eine Übung ist eine Veranstaltung, die der vertiefenden Nachbereitung von Vorlesungs- oder Seminarinhalten dient. Sie vermittelt spezielle Fertigkeiten durch Bearbeitung und Besprechung exemplarischer Aufgaben und Materialien. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist in der Regel auf 20 Teilnehmer*innen beschränkt.


  • Tutorium
  • Ein Tutorium ist eine Begleitveranstaltung zu einem Grundkurs, einem Seminar oder einer Vorlesung, die Unterstützung anbietet und die Inhalte der Lehrveranstaltung vertieft und wiederholt. Sie wird oft von Studierenden in fortgeschrittenen Semestern angeboten, den Tutor*innen; die Teilnehmerzahl eines Tutoriums ist meist kleiner, die Atmosphäre informeller als in einer Übung, sodass die meisten Studenten sich eher trauen, ihre Fragen zu stellen. In Tutorien werden oft auch Tipps zu Prüfungsinhalten gegeben. Die Teilnahme an einem Tutorium ist meist freiwillig, kann aber von Dozierenden vorgeschrieben werden.


  • Proseminare
  • Proseminare sind Lehrveranstaltungen im Grundstudium zur Einführung in wissenschaftliche Probleme und in Techniken des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens. Typisch ist die aktive Beteiligung der Studierenden an der Unterrichtsgestaltung durch Referate und Gruppenarbeit, vor allem aber durch aktive Diskussion der Lehr- und Lerninhalte im Unterricht. Als Leistungsnachweis wird in der Regel eine Hausarbeit oder ein Referat verlangt.


  • Seminare
  • Ein Seminar ist eine Gruppenveranstaltung und dient der vertieften Erörterung von Materialien und Methoden. Seminare setzen in der Regel intensives, seminarbegleitendes Selbststudium voraus. Eine aktive Beteiligung der Teilnehmer wird erwartet, in der Regel durch Vorträge oder Ausarbeitung einer schriftlichen Arbeit und rege Beteiligung an den im Seminar entstehenden Diskussionen. Proseminare, Hauptseminare und Oberseminare sind Seminartypen mit eigenen Charakteristika. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist begrenzt. Als Leistungsnachweis wird in der Regel eine Hausarbeit oder ein Referat verlangt.


  • Hauptseminare
  • Hauptseminare sind für Studierende vorgesehen, die bereits fortgeschrittene Grundkenntnisse und die Kompetenz besitzen, komplexere wissenschaftliche Themen zu bearbeiten. Als Leistungsnachweis wird in der Regel eine Hausarbeit oder ein Referat verlangt.


  • Oberseminar
  • Eine weiterführende, vertiefende Veranstaltung für Studierende in der Endphase ihres Studiums, oft ihres Masterstudiums. Die Teilnahme an Oberseminaren kann für Studierende, die bei der/dem anbietenden Dozierenden ihre Abschlussarbeit schreiben, verpflichtend sein („Kolloquium“); die Teilnahme kann auch freigestellt sein oder nur auf Einladung möglich sein. Ost wird die Präsentation der Abschlussarbeit und eventueller Ergebnisse erwartet.


  • Praktikum
  • Ein Praktikum ist eine Gruppenveranstaltung mit beschränkter Teilnehmerzahl. Es vermittelt fachbezogene praktische Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten, in denen Studierende unter Anleitung experimentelle Arbeiten durchführen. Praktika können an Einrichtungen der Universität durchgeführt werden, wenn Studien- und Prüfungsordnungen dies vorsehen (etwa als „Laborpraktikum“), es können auch Praktika in Unternehmen der freien Wirtschaft vorgesehen sein.


  • Repetitorium
  • Eine Lehrveranstaltung zur Wiederholung von Lehr- und Lerninhalten, die gezielt auf eine (Abschluss-)Prüfung vorbereitet.



Prüfungsarten

Prüfungen beziehen sich in der Regel auf vollständige Module. Sie finden in der Regel in den zwei Wochen nach dem letzten Vorlesungstag statt. Nicht bestandene Prüfungen während des Studiums können in der Regel zwei Mal wiederholt werden; bei Abschlussarbeiten kann die Zahl der Wiederholungen auf eine begrenzt sein.

Grundsätzlich ergibt sich die Prüfungsform aus den Lehrveranstaltungstypen und den Lehr- und Lerninhalten des Moduls. Die Prüfungsform und die Einzelheiten der Durchführung und Bewertung werden zu Semesterbeginn von den Dozierenden erläutert.


  • Klausur
  • Eine Klausur dient der mehr oder weniger standardisierten Abfrage von Basiswissen, weshalb sie vor allem in den Grundlagenveranstaltungen eingesetzt wird. Es gilt, innerhalb des in der Prüfungsordnung festgelegten Zeitrahmens entweder offen formulierte Fragen in Aufsatzform oder geschlossene Fragen im Rahmen eines Multiple-Choice-Tests zu beantworten. Die genaue Ausgestaltung und der Schwierigkeitsgrad obliegen den Dozierenden. Manchmal werden mehrere Fragen gestellt, von denen nur eine oder einige bearbeitet werden müssen – die Auswahl obliegt dann Dir. Ob und welche Hilfsmittel zugelassen sind, wird vor der Klausur bekannt gegeben. (+ Fach-, Methodenkompetenz)


  • Hausarbeit
  • Die Hausarbeit ist eine der häufigsten Prüfungsformen. Nach wissenschaftlicher Methodik ist ein begrenztes Thema zu bearbeiten, das sich aus dem Veranstaltungs¬gegenstand ergibt. Die Hausarbeit verlangt in Ansätzen die Erhebung des Forschungsstandes: die Recherche von einschlägiger Sekundärliteratur unter Nutzung fachspezifischer Hilfsmittel (Bibliographien), das Besorgen und die Sichtung dieser Sekundärliteratur und das Exzerpieren. Ziel ist es, entlang einer Leitfrage eine methodisch zureichende Argumentation aufzubauen, die durch Quellennachweise gestützt wird. Die Hausarbeit verlangt nicht die Erarbeitung ‚neuen‘ Wissens, sondern die methodisch zureichende Aufarbeitung des Wissensstandes zum gestellten Thema. Der besondere Wert der Hausarbeit ergibt sich daraus, dass der Gegenstand der Arbeit methodisch zureichend beschrieben, der Wissensstand zum Gegenstand adäquat aufbereitet und dargestellt und eine Darstellungsform ausgearbeitet werden muss, die fachlichen Ansprüchen genügt. Als längere schriftliche Arbeit stellt die Hausarbeit zudem einige Ansprüche an Selbstorganisation und Arbeitsdisziplin (Fach-, Methoden- und Selbstkompetenz).


  • Projekt/Seminararbeit
  • Durch Projektarbeiten und -präsentationen sollen Studierende ihre Fähigkeit zur Teamarbeit und insbesondere zur Entwicklung und Präsentation von Konzepten nachweisen. Sie sollen zeigen, dass sie an einer größeren Aufgabe selbst Ziele definieren, Lösungsansätze und Konzepte erarbeiten und umsetzen können. Findet die Arbeit als Gruppenarbeit statt, muss der Beitrag des Einzelnen deutlich erkennbar und bewertbar sein.


  • Übungsaufgaben
  • Die Übung kann als Lehrveranstaltung eine Vorlesung begleiten oder für sich stehen. Häufig werden in einer Übung Übungsaufgaben gestellt, deren Lösung Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme an der Klausur der Vorlesung ist. Die Übung kann auch in Form eines Tutoriums oder manchmal unabhängig von der Vorlesung ähnlich einem Seminar stattfinden. Manche Übungen gliedern sich in Gruppen- und Hausübungen. Dabei sind die Aufgaben der Gruppenübung als Präsenz¬veranstaltung konzipiert und laden dazu ein, die Lösungen gemeinschaftlich zu finden. Die Hausübungen werden dagegen alleine gelöst. (Fachkompetenz, Sozialkompetenz)


  • Referat
  • Hier erarbeiten Studierende entweder allein oder mit anderen zusammen ein Thema, welches dann im Rahmen der Lehrveranstaltung präsentiert wird. Im Vorfeld sind die Bewertungskriterien bekanntzugeben, z.B. die Gewichtung der Punkte für Klarheit, Struktur, Sachadäquatheit usw. (Fach-, Methoden-, Sozial- und Selbstkompetenz).


Studierendenportal eCampus

Portal für Studierende in Göttingen und der zentrale Zugangspunkt für Online-Dienste zur Studienorganisation. Dienste wie Selbstbedienungsfunktionen, FlexNow, Stud.IP und UniVZ können von hier aus ohne weiteren Login genutzt werden.


UniVZ

UniVZ – das Kurs- und Personenverzeichnis – beantwortet unter anderem die folgenden Fragen:

  • Welche Kurse werden angeboten?
  • Wer unterrichtet den Kurs?
  • Wo und wann wird der Kurs abgehalten?

Stud.IP

Stud.IP ist ein Open Source Lernmanagement-System, das Sie bei der Verwaltung und Teilnahme an Ihren Kursen unterstützt. Stud.IP dokumentiert auch alle Kurse, die im aktuellen Kurskatalog verfügbar sind (Ausnahme: Universitätsmedizin). Über diese Plattform können Sie Lernmaterial herunterladen und teilen, Kursinhalte diskutieren und Ihren eigenen Inhalt erstellen. Virtuelle Lehrangebote sind in der Regel direkt aus Stud.IP zugänglich.

Damit Sie alle Funktionen von Stud.IP nutzen können, müssen Sie sich beim System anmelden und einloggen. Hierfür stellt die Universität allen Studierenden einen Benutzernamen und ein Passwort zur Verfügung. Dieser Benutzername und dieses Passwort sind die gleichen, die Sie auch für Ihren Studierenden-E-Mail-Account nutzen oder für FlexNow nutzen.


FlexNow Prüfungsverwaltung

Mit FlexNow werden die Prüfungsleistungen in Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge verwaltet. Sie können sich für Prüfungen an- und abmelden, Ihre Noten und Anrechnungspunkte einsehen und eine Zusammenfassung (pdf-Datei) Ihrer bisherigen Leistungen erstellen, ohne dass Sie das Prüfungsamt aufsuchen müssen. Sie erhalten per E-Mail eine Bestätigung über Ihre Anmeldung. Sie erhalten Benachrichtigungen per E-Mail auch dann, wenn Prüfungsergebnisse vom Prüfungsamt freigegeben worden sind.

Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Persönliche Sprechstunden:
Mo und Mi 10-12 Uhr

Hotline-Internationale Studierende und Bewerber*innen

+49 551/39 27777


Telefonische Sprechstunden:
Mo - Fr 9 - 12 Uhr

Kontakt


Lageplan


Find us on Facebook