In publica commoda

Applied Computer Science (B.Sc.)

Features

Programme:
Applied Computer Science (B.Sc.)
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
open (enrolment without previous application)
Orientation events:
at the begin of your studies orientation events are offered
Pre-course:
A pre-course is offered

Get to know us


Details

Computer Science is the science of systematic and automated processing of information. It deals with the structures, characteristics and description possibilities of information and information processing as well as the set-up, working methods and construction principles of computer systems. General working methods in information processing and general methods of their application in different fields are explored. Contents also include the development of experimental and product-oriented information processing systems of modern conception. Computer Science can be subdivided into the areas of Theoretical Computer Science, Practical Computer Science, Technical Computer Sciences as well as Applied Computer Science.

Students will deal with the possibilities of structuring, formalizing and mathematising application areas in the form of special models and simulations. They will acquire knowledge in the engineering aspect of software system development for different application areas under special consideration of the high adaptability and man-computer-interaction of such systems.

The programme aims to convey the basic knowledge of the subject of Computer Science in theory and practice as well as in regards to an application subject. This comprises methods to solve application problems and their implementation in a computer-suited form.

Special emphasis is placed on the close connection with the application subject. In addition, the practical reference can be expanded with external internships, which are to take place in an industrial business or a research institution.

Whoever chooses to study Computer Science should be interested in a mathematical formal as well as application-related practical working method. The ability to work in a team is an important requirement for a later occupation. Knowledge of the English language, especially in programming, is not required.

Do you enjoy working with computers or mathematics, but are also interested in biology, economics, medicine or the humanities? Then Göttingen is the right place for you!

You can study Computer Science in Göttingen as Applied Computer Science in the Bachelor's and Master's programmes. During your studies, we will teach you the theoretical and mathematical basics of computer science and offer you the opportunity to further deepen your knowledge of the broad range of topics in core computer science. Depending on your interests, you can also choose a major to specialise in an application area. This will give you an insight into the latest technologies used in the respective subject areas and experience research-oriented teaching in very different, subject-specific and sometimes very practical forms of teaching.

Possible specialisations include, for example, business informatics, neuroinformatics, bioinformatics or geoinformatics.

Studying at the Institute of Computer Science at Göttingen University enables you to enter innovative professional fields. With a sound education in the field of applied computer science, you can contribute to the technologies of the future, whether in medicine and biotechnology, business, the geosciences or environmental technology and ecosystem research.

Computer scientists are needed in more and more disciplines. They work in banks, industrial companies or social institutions, at universities or in cancer research, they develop computer games and apps as well as robots, medical technology applications and much more. Typical fields of work are:

  • Soft and hardware development
  • Further development and adaptation of application systems and networks
  • Counselling and training
  • Research and teaching

By choosing an application subject in the Applied Computer Science degree programme, possible occupational fields become even more differentiated. The career opportunities for graduates of Applied Computer Science are excellent due to the interdisciplinary study programme.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

In the Bachelor's programme, students first acquire basic knowledge in mathematics (36 C) and computer science (20 C), including programming. The programme continues with compulsory modules and elective modules in the field of core computer science (40 credits). The key competencies (20 C) include programming courses and internships, but non-subject-specific key competencies can also be included in the degree programme, such as a language course. Students complete 42 C in their chosen specialisation. In addition, you have 10 C to choose from. At the end of the Bachelor's programme, students write their Bachelor's thesis (12 C).

Exemplary study plans for different specialisations can be found in the German-only examination and study regulations from page 9 onwards.

An exemplary first semester timetable can be viewed on the programme homepage.

Regulations and module directory


Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Contact

Academic Advising

Office of Dean of Studies Computer Science
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Student Advisory Service
Goldschmidtstr. 7
37077 Göttingen

studienberatung@informatik.uni-goettingen.de

In publica commoda

Angewandte Informatik (B.Sc.)

Steckbrief

Name des Studienfachs:
Angewandte Informatik (B.Sc.)
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Zum Studienbeginn werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten
Vorkurs:
Es wird ein Vorkurs angeboten

Inhalte

Informatik ist die Wissenschaft von der systematischen und automatisierten Verarbeitung von Information. Sie befasst sich mit den Strukturen, den Eigenschaften und den Beschreibungsmöglichkeiten von Information und Informationsverarbeitung sowie mit dem Aufbau, der Arbeitsweise und den Konstruktionsprinzipien von Rechnersystemen. Es werden grundsätzliche Verfahrensweisen der Informationsverarbeitung und allgemeine Methoden ihrer Anwendung in den unterschiedlichen Bereichen erforscht. Zu den Inhalten zählt auch die Entwicklung experimenteller und produktorientierter informationsverarbeitender Systeme moderner Konzeption. Die Informatik kann in die Bereiche Theoretische Informatik, Praktische Informatik, Technische Informatik sowie den Angewandte Informatik untergliedert werden.

Die Studierenden beschäftigen sich mit den Möglichkeiten der Strukturierung, der Formalisierung und der Mathematisierung von Anwendungsgebieten in Form spezieller Modelle und Simulationen. Sie erwerben Kenntnis der ingenieurmäßigen Entwicklung von Softwaresystemen für unterschiedlichen Anwendungsbereiche unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der hohen Anpassungsfähigkeit und der Mensch-Computer- Interaktion solcher Systeme.

Ziel des Studiums ist es, Grundlagen des Faches Informatik in Theorie und Praxis sowie in Bezug auf ein Anwendungsfach zu vermitteln. Dies umfasst Methoden zur Lösung von Anwendungsproblemen und deren Umsetzung in computergerechte Form.

Sie haben Spaß an der Arbeit mit Computern oder an Mathematik, interessieren sich aber auch für Biologie, Wirtschaft, Medizin oder Geisteswissenschaften? Dann sind Sie in Göttingen genau richtig!

Informatik können Sie in Göttingen als Angewandte Informatik im Bachelor sowie im Master studieren. Im Studium vermitteln wir Ihnen die theoretischen und mathematischen Grundlagen der Informatik und bieten Ihnen die Möglichkeit, die breite Themenvielfalt der Kerninformatik weiter zu vertiefen. Je nach Interesse wählen Sie außerdem einen Studienschwerpunkt, durch den Sie sich in einem Anwendungsgebiet spezialisieren. Hierüber erhalten Sie Einblick in modernste Technologien, die in den jeweiligen Fachgebieten Einsatz finden, und erfahren forschungsorientierte Lehre in ganz unterschiedlichen, fachspezifischen und teils sehr praktischen Lehrformen.

Mögliche Studienschwerpunkte sind zum Beispiel Wirtschaftsinformatik, Neuroinformatik, Bioinformatik oder Geoinformatik.

Wer Informatik als Studienfach wählt, sollte sowohl an einer mathematisch formalen als auch an einer anwendungsbezogenen praktischen Arbeitsweise Interesse haben. Die Fähigkeit zur Teamarbeit ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für den späteren Berufsalltag. Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache sind erforderlich. Spezielle Fachkenntnisse, insbesondere in der Programmierung, werden nicht vorausgesetzt.

Ein Studium am Institut für Informatik der Universität Göttingen ermöglicht den Einstieg in innovative Berufsfelder. Mit einer fundierten Ausbildung im Bereich Angewandte Informatik können Sie an den Technologien der Zukunft mitwirken, sei es in der Medizin und Biotechnologie, der Wirtschaft, den Geowissenschaften oder der Umwelttechnologie und Ökosystemforschung.

Informatiker*innen werden in immer mehr Fachdisziplinen benötigt. Sie arbeiten in Banken, Industrieunternehmen oder sozialen Einrichtungen, an Universitäten oder in der Krebsforschung, sie entwickeln Computerspiele und Apps sowie Roboter, Medizintechnikanwendungen und vieles mehr.

Typische Arbeitsfelder sind:

  • Soft- und Hardware-Entwicklung
  • Weiterentwicklung und Anpassung von Anwendungssystemen und Netzwerken
  • Beratung und Ausbildung
  • Forschung und Lehre

Durch die Wahl eines Anwendungsfachs im Studiengang Angewandte Informatik differenzieren sich mögliche Berufsfelder noch erheblich. Die beruflichen Chancen für Absolvent*innen der Angewandten Informatik sind aufgrund des interdisziplinären Studiums ausgezeichnet.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Im Bachelorstudiengang werden zuerst Grundkenntnisse in Mathematik (36 C) und Informatik (20 C) inklusive Programmierung vermittelt. Aufbauend absolviert man sowohl Pflichtmodule als auch Wahlpflichtmodule im Bereich Kerninformatik (40 Credits). Zu den Schlüsselkompetenzen (20 C) gehören unter anderem Programmierkurse und Praktika, aber auch fachfremde Schlüsselkompetenzen können im Studium eingebracht werden wie etwa ein Sprachkurs. Im gewählten Studienschwerpunkt absolviert man 42 C. Außerdem hat man 10 C zur freien Wahl. Am Ende des Bachelorstudiums schreibt man die Bachelorarbeit (12 C).

Exemplarischer Studienverlauf

Studienplan-BSc-AngInf

Legende

Studienplan BSc-AngInf-Legende

Beispielhafte Studienverlaufspläne für verschiedene Studienschwerpunkte können in der Prüfungs- und Studienordnung ab Seite 9 gefunden werden.

Ein beispielhafter Erstsemesterstundenplan kann auf der Studiengangshomepage eingesehen werden.

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
StaatsbüCrger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Kontakt

Spezifische Fachberatung

Studiendekanat Informatik
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Studienberatung
Goldschmidtstr. 7
37077 Göttingen

studienberatung@informatik.uni-goettingen.de