Working in Germany - Sidejob

There are numerous options for working while you are studying. A job at the University that is related to your studies is often the best option. However, permission to work is not tied to your studies. Students often work for local businesses, such as cafes, bars, restaurants, hotels, and cleaning services.

Generally, knowledge of German is mandatory. It is rare to find a job in which English skills alone are sufficient. If you want to finance your studies through part-time jobs, we strongly recommend that you acquire German skills. The Lektorat Deutsch als Fremdsprache offers German language courses that are available free of charge to students of all subjects and degrees.

Part-time student job postings can be found on these pages, among others:

Application documents should be carefully composed and follow certain conventions, regardless of whether you are applying for a full-time job after graduating or a part-time student job. The following sources provide some advice on how to put your application together:

Avoid typical mistakes when submitting an application:

The Start Guide can offer assistance in writing applications or reviewing documents:

The University of Göttingen Career Service offers online seminars on the topic of "application documents":

Students from EU/EEA countries

Students from EU and EEA member states (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) as well as Switzerland can work in Germany without needing a permit.

However, students who are enrolled full time are required to devote themselves predominantly to their studies. Therefore, gainful employment is limited to 20 hours per week. More hours are permitted during the lecture-free period. In total, full-time students may work more than 20 hours per week for up to 26 weeks per year.

Students from non-EU countries

Students from non-EU countries with residence permits in accordance with §16b of the Residence Act (Further education) may also take up part-time employment in Germany to a limited extent. Here, too, the limitation stems from the fact that the primary purpose of the stay is intended to be studying.

Gainful employment is limited to 120 full days or 240 half days per calendar year. Every working day with not less than four and not more than eight working hours counts as a full day; every working day with not more than four working hours counts as a half day. Thus, it is not the de facto hours worked that are counted, but rather the number of working days according to this calculation. It is advisable to distribute the working time in such a way that the allowable number of days is utilised as much as possible. If these limits are followed, it is not necessary to notify the Immigration Authority.

Part-time student jobs that are carried out at the University are exempt from time limits and do not require the approval of the Immigration Office.

This also includes compulsory internships that must be completed as part of the studies. They are considered an integral part of the studies.

Voluntary internships, on the other hand, are not exempt. These fall under the 120/240-day rule and thus require the approval of the Immigration Office if they exceed the number of specified days.

In the event that longer term employment that exceeds the 120/240-day rule is planned, the Immigration Office must be contacted. Please include a concrete job offer for the purpose of verification.

The pursuit of self-employment is usually prohibited and can lead to loss of the residence permit. Individual cases can be approved by the Immigration Office if the time frame of the self-employment remains limited and there is also a connection to one’s studies. In case of doubt, it is advisable to consult the Immigration Office before taking up self-employment.

For non-EU citizens who have been granted a residence permit in accordance with another section, other regulations may apply. The Immigration Office can provide more information on this.

Information and reporting obligations

Employees are obligated to provide their employers with all relevant information:

  • Change of person information (name, address, etc.)
  • Change of family status (marriage, children, etc.)
  • Change of student status (leave of absence, etc.)
  • Taking up additional employment
  • etc.
Working students

Students who are employed while studying and are not marginally employed, ie earn more than 450€, are called working students. Please find here further information.

Marginal employment (“Mini jobs”)

Mini jobs are low-paid jobs. It also means that there is a specific earning or time limit.

The earning limit is 450€ per month. This earning limit is calculated as an average over the calendar year; therefore, it may be exceeded for individual months. It is usually not a problem if the 450€ gross earnings is exceeded for up to three months, but it should be discussed with employer.

The time limit for short-term mini jobs is no more than three months or a total of 70 working days per calendar year. Please find further information here.

Workers in mini jobs usually do not pay social security contributions, except for a small contribution to their pension. Workers in mini jobs can be exempted from a compulsory pension contribution. Once the decision for exemption has been made, it is binding until the end of the employment relationship. Please find further information here and here.

In reality, a mini job is taxable, but these jobs are often settled via a 2% lump sum tax payment by the employer. Therefore, the job appears tax-free to the employee.

Erfolgt die Besteuerung in Ausnahmefällen über die individuelle Steuerklasse des*der Arbeitnehmers*in, so kann die gezahlte Steuer am Jahresende mithilfe einer Steuererklärung zurückgefordert werden. Dies setzt voraus, dass das Jahresgesamteinkommen nicht den Steuerfreibetrag übersteigt (2022: 9.984 Euro). Welche Art der Besteuerung gewählt wird, entscheidet der*die Arbeitgeber*in. Daher sollte das vorher mit dem*der Arbeitgeber*in besprochen werden.

Midi-Jobs

A “midi job” is one in which you earn more than 450€ and less than 1300€ per month on average (including any one-time payments, etc). Annually recurring one-time payments such as holiday or Christmas bonuses are also included in the calculation.

Midi jobs are subject to social insurance contributions, albeit at reduced rates, while still eligible to receive full benefits. The amount of the contribution increases with higher incomes. People with incomes over 1300€ are required to pay the social insurance contribution at the full rate.

Income from midi jobs is taxable. The amount of the tax due is determined by the tax brackets.

Please find further information here.

Everyone who earns an income in Germany is subject to income tax. Therefore, this applies to international students as well as to all Germans. All income from work and property is subject to tax. Anyone who earns income is obligated to inform the tax office of the amount and then to pay the income tax due.

Tax brackets (tax class)

The amount of income tax due depends on the amount of taxable income earned and the applicable tax bracket. As a rule, the classification of tax brackets depends on marital status. The classification is made automatically by the personnel department of the company in which you are employed. It is therefore important to report any changes in marital status, etc to your employer.

The tax calculator provides a rough estimate of the tax burden: Tax calculator

Tax-free income

In Germany, there is a baseline amount that is considered tax-free. This is currently 9,984 euros (2022). Only the income that exceeds this tax-free amount is taxable.

Tax return

If the income is below the above-mentioned tax-free amount, no tax is due for gainful employment. This means that as a rule, no tax return has to be filed.

However, if taxes have been already paid during the year, this amount can be reclaimed and returned to you by filing a tax return.

When preparing the tax return, any income-related expense, that is, expenses that are incurred in connection with employment during the year, can reduce the amount of taxable income. Here are some common examples of costs that can reduce the tax:

  • Work equipment or professional literature
  • Office furniture
  • Travel expenses
  • Laptop
  • Tuition fees
  • etc.

All details will be checked by the tax office. The tax burden will be reduced only if the costs are recognized by the tax office.

A tax return can be prepared by yourself using the online portal (ELSTER) of the tax office.

Assistance with preparing a tax return can be obtained from income tax assistance associations or tax consultants, for example. Generally, this assistance is subject to a fee.

Documents for employment
  • Where can I find my national insurance number?
  • From the pension insurance fund: toll-free service number 0800-1000 4800 or from your health insurance company.

  • Where do I get my tax ID (identification) number?
  • After you have registered at the Residents’ Registration Office (Einwohnermeldamt), you will receive a letter from the tax office by post informing you of your tax ID number.

  • Where do I get my health insurance certificate?
  • From your health insurance company.

  • Where do I get my pension insurance certificate with my pension insurance number?
  • From the responsible pension insurance company.

  • How can I get my police record certificate?
  • By booking an appointment using the appointment portal of the City of Göttingen.

  • What is the health certificate (Gesundheitszeugnis) and how do I get one?
  • If you work in the food sector and are in direct contact with food during food preparation, it is mandatory that you have a health certificate. You will be informed about this by your future employer when you are hired, if the document should be necessary. You can obtain the health certificate from the City of Göttingen by booking an appointment using the appointment portal.

Income
  • What is the minimum wage?
  • In Germany, the federal minimum wage is the same for all industries. It is adjusted annually. From 1 January to 30 June 2022, the statutory minimum wage is 9.82 euros; from 1 July to 31 December 2022, the statutory minimum wage increases to 10.45 euros. However, different regulations may apply to internships.

  • Is there an income limit?
  • No, there is no limit on how much you may earn. You may earn as much is feasible for you. Only the number of working days is limited (see above). However, the amount of your income determines the amount of your social insurance contributions and also any taxes that are due.

Employment at the University
  • What is an SHK or a HiWi?
  • The abbreviation SHK stands for student assistant (studentische Hilfskraft), HiWi stands for academic assistant (Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft). In both cases, these are student jobs that are typically taken on part-time while you work toward your degree.

  • May I have more than one mini job?
  • Yes, it is possible to have several mini jobs at the same time. If the total income is less than 450€, your jobs will continue to be treated as mini jobs. If the total income exceeds 450€, the jobs can no longer be classified as mini jobs but as employment subject to social insurance contributions. Further information can be found here.

  • Can I be employed as a student assistant even if I am currently on leave from my studies? If so, what social insurance implications does the leave of absence have for my employment?
  • In principle, employment is possible.

    During a semester of leave, you are still enrolled as a student, but as a rule you do not take part in your studies. Time and labour are not predominantly used for your studies. Therefore, you are no longer considered a regular student. Therefore, employment during a semester of leave is generally subject to social insurance contributions. This means that contributions to pension, health insurance, long-term care, and unemployment must be paid if the monthly gross income (taking into account income from all jobs) exceeds 450 euros.

    The leave of absence must be reported to the Human Resources Department promptly with the certificate of study.

  • Can I be employed as a student assistant even though I am not enrolled as a student?
  • No. You can only be employed as a student assistant if you are also enrolled at a German university and are working toward a degree.

  • Can student assistants who are enrolled at another German university be employed at the University of Göttingen?
  • Yes. Please be sure to submit the current certificate of enrolment from the other German university.

  • Is it possible to be employed as an assistant at different faculties of the University at the same time?
  • Yes, that is possible. Your employment contract will list the individual periods of employment with the working hours in the respective institutions/faculties separately. Please note that even then, the total monthly working hours may not exceed 86 hours.

  • Do I have to notify the Human Resources Department of any additional employment or internships (outside of the University)?
  • Yes, you have a duty to inform the employer of any other activities and previous employment with other employers outside of the University. This information is required for the correct determination of your social security obligation. In addition, you can declare which of your employers is to be the “main employer” for the purposes of determining your income tax class. For all other employers, income tax will then be deducted according to income tax class “6”.



Contact:

The International Office
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Personal Office Hours:
Mon and Wed 10-12 h

Hotline-International students and applicants


+49 551/39 27777


Calling Hours:
Mon - Fri 9 - 12 h

Contact


Map


Find us on Facebook

Arbeiten in Deutschland - Nebenjob

Die Möglichkeiten, neben dem Studium zu arbeiten, sind zahlreich. Eine Tätigkeit an der Universität, die in einem inhaltlichen Bezug zum Studium steht, ist oft die beste Option. Die Erlaubnis zur Erwerbstätigkeit ist aber nicht daran gebunden. Studierende arbeiten regelmäßig für Unternehmen der Umgebung, auch in Cafés, Bars oder Restaurants, in Hotels oder der Gebäudereinigung.

In der Regel sind Deutschkenntnisse zwingend erforderlich. Jobs, für die Englischkenntnisse ausreichen, sind selten. Wollen Sie Ihr Studium durch studentische Nebenjobs finanzieren, empfehlen wir dringend den Erwerb von Deutschkenntnissen. Das Lektorat Deutsch als Fremdsprache bietet Deutschkenntnisse an, die Studierenden aller Fächer und Abschlussniveaus kostenlos zugänglich sind.

Ausschreibungen studentischer Nebenjobs werden u.a. hier veröffentlicht:

Bewerbungsunterlagen sollten ansprechend gestaltet sein und gewissen Konventionen folgen, egal, ob es sich um eine Bewerbung für einen regulären Job nach dem Studium oder für einen studentischen Nebenjob handelt. Hinweise und Tipps zur Gestaltung der Bewerbung bieten die folgenden Quellen:

Typische Fehler beim Bewerbungsschreiben vermeiden:

Weiterführende Unterstützung beim Schreiben der Bewerbung bzw. beim Sichten der Unterlagen kann der StartGuide bieten:

Der Career Service der Universität Göttingen bietet Online-Seminare zum Thema „Bewerbungsunterlagen“ an:

Studierende aus den EU-/EWR-Staaten

Studierende, die aus den EU- und den EWR-Vertragsstaaten (Island, Liechtenstein und Norwegen) sowie der Schweiz stammen, können in Deutschland arbeiten, ohne dass dafür eine Genehmigung erforderlich wäre.

Studierende, die zum Vollzeitstudium eingeschrieben sind, sind jedoch verpflichtet, sich überwiegend dem Studium zu widmen. Deshalb darf Erwerbstätigkeit nicht mehr als 20 Stunden pro Woche umfassen. In der vorlesungsfreien Zeit ist eine höhere Stundenzahl erlaubt: In bis zu 26 Wochen pro Beschäftigungsjahr darf mehr als 20 Stunden gearbeitet werden.

Studierende aus Nicht-EU-Staaten

Auch Studierende aus Nicht-EU-Staaten, die eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach § 16b AufenthG (Aufenthalt zum Zweck des Studiums) besitzen, dürfen in Deutschland in begrenztem Umfang einen Nebenjob aufnehmen. Auch hier ergibt sich die Begrenzung daraus, dass der Aufenthalt vorrangig dem Studium dienen soll.

Erwerbstätigkeit ist auf 120 volle bzw. 240 halbe Tage pro Kalenderjahr beschränkt. Dabei gilt jeder Arbeitstag mit nicht weniger als vier und nicht mehr als 8 Arbeitsstunden als ganzer Tag, jeder Arbeitstag mit nicht mehr als vier Arbeitsstunden als halber Tag. Relevant sind also nicht die de facto gearbeiteten Stunden, sondern die Zahl der Arbeitstage nach dieser Rechnung – es empfiehlt sich, die Arbeitszeit so zu verteilen, dass die erlaubte Anzahl an Tagen so gut wie möglich ausgenutzt wird. Werden diese Grenzen eingehalten, ist eine Information der Ausländerbehörde nicht erforderlich.

Von dieser 120-/240-Tage-Regelung sind alle studentischen Nebentätigkeiten, die an der Universität ausgeübt werden ausgenommen. Diese können ohne zeitliche Begrenzung und ebenfalls ohne Genehmigung der Ausländerbehörde ausgeübt werden.

Dies umfasst auch Pflicht-Praktika, die im Rahmen des Studiums absolviert werden müssen. Sie werden als Bestandteil des Studiums angesehen. Freiwillige Praktika hingegen, fallen wiederum unter die 120-/240-Tage-Regelung und bedürfen somit der Zustimmung der Ausländerbehörde, wenn sie die Anzahl der vorgegebenen Tage übersteigen.

Sollte eine längerfristige Beschäftigung geplant sein, die über die 120-/240-Tage-Regelung hinausreicht, muss in jedem Fall die Ausländerbehörde kontaktiert werden. Für die Prüfung legen Sie bitte ein konkretes Stellenangebot vor.

Die Ausübung einer selbstständigen Tätigkeit ist grundsätzlich verboten und kann zum Verlust des Aufenthaltstitels führen. Einzelfälle können von der Ausländerbehörde genehmigt werden, wenn der zeitliche Umfang der selbständigen Tätigkeit eng begrenzt bleibt und auch ein Bezug zum Studium besteht. Im Zweifelsfall empfiehlt sich die Rücksprache mit der Ausländerbehörde, bevor die selbständige Tätigkeit aufgenommen wird.

Für Nicht-EU-Bürger*innen, die eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach einem anderen Paragraphen erhalten haben, können andere Regelungen gelten. Hier kann die Ausländerbehörde Auskunft geben.

Informations- und Meldepflichten

Arbeitnehmer*innen sind grundsätzlich dazu verpflichtet Ihren Arbeitgeber*innen alle relevanten und aktuellen Informationen zukommen zulassen:

  • Änderung von persönlichen Daten (Name, Anschrift etc.)
  • Änderung des Familienstatus (Heirat, Kinder etc.)
  • Änderung des Studierendenstatus (Beurlaub etc.)
  • Aufnahme weiterer Jobs
  • etc.
Werkstudent*innen

Studierende, die neben dem Studium einer abhängigen Beschäftigung nachgehen und nicht geringfügig beschäftigt sind, also mehr als 450€ verdienen, werden als Werkstudent*innen bezeichnet. Weiterführende Informationen dazu finden Sie hier.

Mini-Jobs

Mini-Jobs sind geringfügig entlohnte Beschäftigungen. Geringfügig beschäftigt bedeutet, dass es eine bestimmte Verdienstgrenze oder eine bestimmte Zeitgrenze gibt.

Die Höhe der Verdienstgrenze beträgt 450€. Diese Verdienstgrenze kann in einzelnen Monaten, aber nicht im Durchschnitt eines Kalenderjahres überschritten werden. Eine unvorhergesehene Überschreitung der Grenze von 450€ brutto in bis zu drei Monaten ist in der Regel unproblematisch. Dies ist jedoch individuell mit dem*der Arbeitergeber*in abzusprechen.

Die zeitliche Begrenzung bei kurzfristigen Mini-Jobs liegt pro Kalenderjahre bei nicht mehr als drei Monaten oder insgesamt 70 Arbeitstagen. Weiterführende Informationen dazu finden Sie hier.

Arbeitnehmer*innen in Mini-Jobs zahlen in der Regel keine Sozialabgaben, außer einem geringen Beitrag zur Rentenversicherung. Von der Rentenversicherungspflicht können sich Arbeitnehmer*innen in Mini-Jobs befreien lassen. Ist die Entscheidung der Befreiung einmal getroffen, ist sie bis zum Ende des Beschäftigungsverhältnisses bindend. Weiterführende Informationen dazu finden Sie hier und hier.

Ein Mini-Job ist zwar prinzipiell steuerpflichtig, jedoch werden diese Jobs häufig über eine Steuerpauschale in Höhe von 2% über den Arbeitgeber abgerechnet. Daher sind diese Jobs für den*die Arbeitnehmer*in scheinbar steuerfrei.

Erfolgt die Besteuerung in Ausnahmefällen über die individuelle Steuerklasse des*der Arbeitnehmers*in, so kann die gezahlte Steuer am Jahresende mithilfe einer Steuererklärung zurückgefordert werden. Dies setzt voraus, dass das Jahresgesamteinkommen nicht den Steuerfreibetrag übersteigt (2022: 9.984 Euro). Welche Art der Besteuerung gewählt wird, entscheidet der*die Arbeitgeber*in. Daher sollte das vorher mit dem*der Arbeitgeber*in besprochen werden.

Midi-Jobs

Bei einem Midi-Job verdient man mehr als 450€ und weniger als 1300€ (inklusive Einmalzahlungen etc.) im Monat. Jährlich wiederkehrende Einmalzahlungen wie Urlaubs- oder Weihnachtsgeld fließen in die Berechnung mit ein.

Midi-Jobs sind grundsätzlich sozialversicherungspflichtige Jobs, jedoch gelten reduzierte Beitragssätze für die Beiträge zur Sozialversicherung bei vollen Leistungsansprüchen. Die Höhe der Sozialversicherungsbeiträge steigt mit steigendem Einkommen. Ab einem Einkommen von 1300 € fallen dann schließlich volle Sozialversicherungsbeiträge an.

Das Einkommen aus Midi-Jobs ist steuerpflichtig. Die Höhe der Steuerlast ergibt sich aus der individuellen Steuerklasse.

Weiterführende Informationen dazu finden Sie hier.

Steuerpflichtig ist jeder, der in Deutschland Einkommen erwirtschaftet. Daher gilt dies für internationale Studierende ebenso wie für Deutsche. Steuerpflichtig sind alle Einkünfte aus Arbeit und Vermögen. Wer also solche Einkünfte erzielt, ist verpflichtet, dem zuständigen Finanzamt die Höhe mitzuteilen und die anfallende Einkommensteuer zu zahlen.

Steuerklassen

Die Höhe der Einkommenssteuer richtet sich nach der Höhe des steuerpflichtigen Einkommens und danach, in welche Steuerklasse man eingruppiert ist. Die Eingruppierung der Steuerklassen ist i.d.R. abhängig vom Familienstand. Die Eingruppierung erfolgt automatisch seitens der Personalabteilung des Unternehmens in dem Sie angestellt sind. Daher ist es wichtig, eventuelle Änderungen zum Familienstand etc. dort anzugeben.

Der Steuerrechner bietet einen groben Rechner der Steuerbelastung: Steuerrechner

Steuerfreies Einkommen

In Deutschland gibt es einen sogenannten Steuerfreibetrag. Dieser beträgt aktuell 9.984 Euro (2022). Lediglich der Betrag, der über den Freibetrag hinausgeht wird versteuert.

Steuererklärung

Liegt das Einkommen unter dem o.g. Steuerfreibetrag wird bei abhängiger Beschäftigung in der Regel keine Steuer abgeführt. Somit muss i.d.R. auch keine Steuererklärung angefertigt werden.

Wenn über das Jahr jedoch Steuern abgeführt wurden, können über das Einreichen einer Steuererklärung zu viel gezahlte Steuern zurückgefordert werden.

Bei der Erstellung der Steuererklärung können sogenannte Werbungskosten und weitere Kosten, die im Zusammenhang mit der Erwerbstätigkeit über das laufende Jahr angefallen sind, die Höhe des zu versteuernden Einkommens mindern. Hier sind einige Beispiele für mögliche steuermindernde Kosten:

  • Arbeitsmittel oder Fachliteratur
  • Büromöbel
  • Fahrtkosten
  • Laptop
  • Studiengebühren
  • etc.

Alle Angaben werden vom Finanzamt geprüft. Erst wenn das Finanzamt die Kosten anerkennt, werden sie tatsächlich bei der Berechnung der Steuerlast berücksichtigt.

Eine Steuererklärung kann selbstständig über das Online-Portal vom Finanzamt (ELSTER) erstellt werden.

Unterstützung bei der Erstellung einer Steuererklärung leisten etwa Lohnsteuerhilfevereine oder Steuerberater. Diese Unterstützung ist in der Regel kostenpflichtig.

Dokumente für die Einstellung
  • Woher bekomme ich meine Sozialversicherungsnummer?
  • Von der Rentenversicherung: kostenfreie Servicetelefonnummer 0800-1000 4800 oder von der zuständigen Krankenversicherung.

  • Woher bekomme ich meine Steuer-ID-(Identifikations)-Nummer?
  • Nach Ihrer Anmeldung beim Einwohnermeldeamt erhalten Sie ein Schreiben vom Finanzamt per Post, in dem Ihnen die Steuer-ID-Nummer mitgeteilt wird.

  • Woher bekomme ich meine Krankenversicherungsbescheinigung?
  • Von der Krankenkasse.

  • Woher bekomme ich meinen Rentenversicherungs-Ausweis (auch Sozialversicherungsausweis genannt) mit der Rentenversicherungs-Nummer?
  • Vom zuständigen Rentenversicherungsträger.

  • Woher bekomme ich mein Polizeiliches Führungszeugnis?
  • Über das Terminportal der Stadt Göttingen.

  • Was ist ein Gesundheitszeugnis und woher bekomme ich es?
  • Wenn Sie im Lebensmittelbereich arbeiten und bei der Zubereitung von Speisen direkt in Kontakt mit Lebensmitteln stehen, brauchen Sie zwingend ein Gesundheitszeugnis. Sie werden von Ihrem zukünftigen Arbeitgeber bei der Einstellung darüber informiert, sofern das Dokument notwendig sein sollte. Sie erhalten das Gesundheitszeugnis bei der Stadt Göttingen. Über das Terminportal der Stadt Göttingen können Sie für die Beantragung einen Termin machen.

Einkommen
  • Was ist der Mindestlohn?
  • In Deutschland gilt ein flächendeckender Mindestlohn für alle Branchen. Er wird jährlich angepasst: Vom 1. Januar bis zum 30. Juni 2022 beträgt der gesetzliche Mindestlohn 9,82 Euro, vom 1. Juli bis zum 31. Dezember 2022 beträgt der gesetzliche Mindestlohn 10,45 Euro. Für Praktika können abweichende Regelungen gelten.

  • Gibt es eine Begrenzung des Einkommens?
  • Nein, es gibt keine Begrenzung hinsichtlich der Höhe Ihres Einkommens. Sie dürfen so viel verdienen, wie es für Sie möglich ist. Lediglich die Anzahl der vorgegebenen Arbeitstage ist begrenzt (siehe oben). Die Höhe Ihres Einkommens bestimmt jedoch die Höhe der Sozialversicherungsbeiträge und auch eventueller Steuern, die anfallen können.

Anstellung an der Universität
  • Was ist eine SHK oder ein HiWi?
  • Die Abkürzung SHK steht für studentische Hilfskraft, die Abkürzung HiWi steht für Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft. In beiden Fällen handelt es sich um studentische Beschäftigungen, die in Teilzeit neben dem Studium wahrgenommen werden können.

  • Darf ich mehrere Mini-Jobs haben?
  • Ja, es ist möglich, mehrere Mini-Jobs gleichzeitig zu haben. Sollte die Summe der Einkünfte addiert weniger als 450€ ergeben, werden alle Jobs weiterhin als Mini-Jobs geführt. Sollten die Einkünfte addiert mehr als 450€ ergeben, werden die Tätigkeiten nicht mehr als Mini-Jobs gewertet, sondern als sozialversicherungspflichtige Beschäftigung. Weiterführende Informationen dazu finden Sie hier.

  • Kann ich als studentische Hilfskraft beschäftigt werden, wenn ich zurzeit vom Studium beurlaubt bin? Wenn ja, welche sozialversicherungsrechtlichen Auswirkungen hat die Beurlaubung auf meine Beschäftigung?
  • Eine Beschäftigung ist grundsätzlich möglich.

    Während eines Urlaubssemesters sind Sie als Student*in zwar weiterhin eingeschrieben, nehmen aber in der Regel nicht am Studienbetrieb teil. Zeit und Arbeitskraft werden nicht überwiegend für das Studium verwendet. Somit sind Sie kein ordentlicher Studierender mehr. Eine Beschäftigung während eines Urlaubssemesters ist deshalb grundsätzlich sozialversicherungspflichtig in der Sozialversicherung. Dies bedeutet, dass Beiträge zur Renten-, Kranken-, Pflege- und Arbeitslosenversicherung bezahlt werden müssen, soweit das monatliche Bruttoeinkommen (hierbei sind auch die Einkommen aus Mehrfachbeschäftigungen zu berücksichtigen) die Geringfügigkeitsgrenze von zzt. 450 Euro übersteigt.

    Die Beurlaubung ist der Personalabteilung unverzüglich durch Vorlage der Studienbescheinigung anzuzeigen.

  • Kann ich als studentische Hilfskraft beschäftigt sein, obwohl ich nicht immatrikuliert bin?
  • Nein. Als studentische Hilfskraft kann nur beschäftigt werden, wer an einer deutschen Hochschule immatrikuliert ist und einen Abschluss anstrebt.

  • Kann eine Beschäftigung als Hilfskraft an verschiedenen Fakultäten der Universität gleichzeitig erfolgen?
  • Ja, das ist möglich. In Ihrem Arbeitsvertrag werden die einzelnen Beschäftigungszeiträume mit den Arbeitsstunden in den jeweiligen Einrichtungen/Fakultäten getrennt aufgelistet. Zu beachten ist, dass die monatliche Arbeitszeit auch dann insgesamt nur maximal 86 Stunden betragen darf.

  • Muss ich jede weitere Beschäftigung oder ein Praktikum (außerhalb der Universität) der Personalabteilung mitteilen?
  • Ja. Sie haben gegenüber dem Arbeitgeber eine Mitteilungspflicht über gleichzeitig ausgeübte weitere Tätigkeiten und Vorbeschäftigungen bei anderen Arbeitgebern außerhalb der Universität. Diese Angaben werden zur korrekten Festsetzung der Sozialversicherungspflicht benötigt. Daneben können Sie für die Feststellung der Lohnsteuerklasse erklären, welcher Ihrer Arbeitgeber der „Hauptarbeitgeber“ sein soll. Bei allen anderen Arbeitgebern erfolgt der Lohnsteuerabzug daraufhin nach Lohnsteuerklasse „sechs“.



Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Persönliche Sprechstunden:
Mo und Mi 10-12 Uhr

Hotline-Internationale Studierende und Bewerber*innen

+49 551/39 27777


Telefonische Sprechstunden:
Mo - Fr 9 - 12 Uhr

Kontakt


Lageplan


Find us on Facebook