In publica commoda

Egyptology and Coptic Studies (M.A.)

Features

The M.A. programme in Göttingen offers students a variety of options - depending on whether you want to specialise in Egyptology or Coptic Studies or complement your studies of another subject. Expand your knowledge of the languages of ancient Egypt or get in touch with the subject for the first time in cultural history seminars. In courses on the reception of ancient Egypt, on archaeology, religion and literature, you will gain in-depth insights into Pharaonic and post-Pharaonic/Coptic culture.

Name:
Egyptology and Coptic Studies
Degree:
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Language of the programme:
German and English
Standard period of studies:
4 Semesters
Start of studies:
Summer or winter semester
Admission:
Restricted (Application to the Faculty)

Get to know us


Details

Egyptology as a science researches the culture of Pharaonic Egypt. The subject of Coptic Studies is post-Pharaonic/Christian Egypt in Late Antiquity and the Middle Ages. Both areas of specialisation are represented at the institute in Göttingen, offering a particularly broad insight into the material culture, language and literature of pre-modern Egypt. The areas can be studied either individually within the M.A. Egyptology and Coptic Studies or together as a single subject within the M.A. in Ancient Cultures.

The research foci at the institute in Göttingen are currently the history of religion and language, digital textual studies, Coptic literary and religious history, as well as the history of Egyptology and Coptic Studies. Archaeology, architecture, cultural theory, and gender studies are also among the research topics represented.

Through internships or research assistantships in various projects, students have the opportunity to acquire a number of additional qualifications, e.g. by working in the editorial office of the internationally recognised journal: "Göttinger Miszellen - Beiträge zur ägyptologischen Diskussion", which is located at the institute or in the long-term research project of the “Digital Edition of the Coptic-Sahidic Old Testament” at the Academy of Sciences and Humanities, which is closely connected to it.

While some originals and replicas of ancient Egyptian objects are kept in the collections of the University, the geographical proximity and close professional connections to the major Egyptian museums in the region are of particular advantage for Göttingen students: the Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum in Hildesheim and the Museum August Kestner in Hanover both have important Egyptian collections. Regular field trips take students to other major collections in Europe or to Egypt.

After successfully completing a Master’s degree, students can go on to a PhD in Egyptology or Coptic Studies and pursue an academic career at universities and other research institutions in Germany and abroad.

In addition to academic research and teaching, studying Egyptology and/or Coptic Studies will prepare for numerous other fields of employment. Graduates have found work in, e.g., museums, libraries, in cultural and academic management or publishing as well as in adult education.

Related and consecutive programmes

Structure

Structure of degree programme

This degree programme can be studied in 2 different profiles.

  • Joint Honours MA totalling 42 credits in combination with one module package (minor) totalling 36 credits
  • Joint Honours MA totalling 42 credits in combination with two module packages (minors) totalling 18 credits each

You can apply for one study profile.

1. - 4. Semester

4. Semester

Master’s thesis

4. Semester

Master’s thesis

Regulations and module directory


Application

Previous studies

  • B.A.-Degree or equivalent
  • at least 150 ETCS at the time of application
  • Eligibility:
    • Having completed at least 50 Credits in one of the following areas (or equivalent) is required:
      Egyptology, Coptic Studies, Classical Philology, Papyrology, Classical and Christian Archaeology, Ancient Near Eastern Studies (Cuneiform Studies, Near Eastern Archaeology), Prehistory, Ancient History, Mediaeval and Modern History, Byzantine Studies, Protestant Theology, Catholic Theology, Religious Studies, Jewish Studies, African Studies, Arabic or Islamic Studies, Modern Near Eastern Studies, Art History, Comparative Literature, Linguistics, Cultural Anthropology, European Ethnology or Gender Studies.

Language requirements

  • Non-native speakers of German must provide evidence for sufficient proficiency in German ( at the C1-level ).
  • The major in “Egyptology” requires language skills in Middle Egyptian to the extent of at least 12 Credits, the major in “Coptic Studies” language skills in Sahidic Coptic to the extent of at least 12 Credits.
  • The ability to read English and French is very useful for students of Egyptology and Coptic Studies. If you do not bring these or other language skills (e.g. a basic knowledge of Ancient Greek for students of Coptic) to your MA studies, you can acquire them at the university, which offers a wide range of language courses. Current information can be found on the homepage of the Central Institution for Languages and Key Qualifications "ZESS” .

Impressions

Our Campus


Your Studies


Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Lisa Katharina Müller and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Academic Advising

Prof. Dr. Heike Behlmer

Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 551 39 29420
Fax. +49 551 39 29332

hbehlme@uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Questions regarding applications

Snezana Weber M.A.

Humboldtallee 17
Room 1.110 (1st floor)
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26717
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

Email: master.koordination@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

In publica commoda

Ägyptologie und Koptologie (M.A.)

Steckbrief

Das M.A.-Studium in Göttingen bietet Ihnen eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten – je nachdem, ob Sie eine Spezialisierung in Ägyptologie oder Koptologie anstreben oder Ihr Studium eines anderen Faches ergänzen möchten. Bauen Sie Ihre Kenntnisse altägyptischer Sprachen aus oder nehmen Sie in kulturgeschichtlichen Seminaren erstmals den Kontakt zum Fach auf. In Lehrveranstaltungen zur Rezeption des Alten Ägypten, zur Archäologie, Religion und Literatur gewinnen Sie vertiefende Einblicke in die pharaonische und nachpharaonische/koptische Kultur.

Name:
Ägyptologie und Koptologie
Abschluss:
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Regelstudienzeit:
4 Semester
Studienbeginn:
Sommer- oder Wintersemester
Zulassung:
Bewerbung bei der Fakultät

Lernen Sie uns kennen


Inhalte

Die Ägyptologie als Wissenschaft erforscht die Kultur des pharaonischen Ägypten. Gegenstand der Koptologie ist das nachpharaonische/christliche Ägypten in Spätantike und Mittelalter. Beide Schwerpunkte werden in Göttingen an einem Institut vertreten und gelehrt, sodass die Studierenden einen besonders weiten Blick über die Ausprägungen und Entwicklungen der Architektur, gegenständlichen Kunst und Literatur im vormodernen Ägypten gewinnen können.

Im Master Ägyptologie und Koptologie haben Sie die Wahl einen der beiden Schwerpunkte zu wählen. Im Master Antike Kulturen gibt es darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit beide zusammen zu studieren.

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte am Göttinger Institut sind derzeit Religions- und Sprachgeschichte, digitale Textwissenschaften, koptische Literatur- und Kirchengeschichte, Archäologie, Bauforschung, Kulturtheorie, „Gender Studies“ sowie die ägyptologische und koptologische Wissenschaftsgeschichte.

Das Seminar gibt eine international anerkannte Zeitschrift heraus: die „Göttinger Miszellen – Beiträge zur ägyptologischen Diskussion“. Es ist eng verbunden mit dem Langzeitvorhaben der Digitalen Edition des koptisch-sahidischen Alten Testaments an der Akademie der Wissenschaften. Sie haben die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen von Praktika oder Hilfskrafttätigkeiten durch Mitarbeit in der Redaktion oder an Projekten des Seminars eine Reihe von Zusatzqualifikationen zu erwerben.

In den Sammlungen der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen werden einige Originale und manche Nachbildungen von altägyptischen Objekten verwahrt. Von besonderem Vorteil in Göttingen sind zudem die geographische Nähe und die engen Verbindungen zu den ägyptischen Museen der Region: Das Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum in Hildesheim und das Museum August Kestner in Hannover verfügen über bedeutende ägyptische Sammlungen. Regelmäßige Exkursionen führen Sie in weitere große Sammlungen Europas oder nach Ägypten.

Nach erfolgreich abgeschlossenem Masterstudium können Sie in Göttingen eine Promotion in Ägyptologie oder Koptologie anschließen und eine wissenschaftliche Karriere an Universitäten und an außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen im In- und Ausland anstreben.

Sie qualifizieren sich neben der fachlich vertiefenden Forschung und Lehre für diverse Tätigkeitsbereiche; beispielsweise in Museen, Bibliotheken, im Kultur- und Wissenschaftsmanagement oder Verlagswesen sowie in der Erwachsenenbildung.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Der Studiengang lässt sich in insgesamt 2 verschiedenen Profilen studieren:

  • Fachstudium im Umfang von 42 Credits und ein Modulpaket (Nebenfach) im Umfang von 36 Credits
  • Fachstudium im Umfang von 42 Credits und zwei Modulpakete (Nebenfächer) im Umfang von jeweils 18 Credits

Sie bewerben sich auf ein Studienprofil.

1. - 4. Semester

4. Semester

Masterarbeit

4. Semester

Masterarbeit

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Bewerbung

Vorstudium

  • B.A.-Abschluss oder vergleichbarer Abschluss
  • mind. 150 ECTS zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung
  • Fachliche Einschlägigkeit:
    • Nachzuweisen sind Leistungen in Ägyptologie, Koptologie, Klassischer Philologie, Papyrologie, Klassischer Archäologie, Christlicher Archäologie, Ur- und Frühgeschichte, Altorientalistik, Keilschriftkunde, Vorderasiatischer Archäologie, Alter Geschichte, Mittlerer und Neuer Geschichte, Byzantinistik, Evangelischer Theologie, Katholischer Theologie, Judaistik/Jewish Studies, Afrikanistik, Arabistik, Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Classical Studies, Gender Studies, Kunstgeschichte, Komparatistik/Vergleichender Literaturwissenschaft, Linguistik, Altertumswissenschaft, Anthropologie, Ethnologie, Europäischer Ethnologie/Volkskunde oder Religionswissenschaft im Umfang von mindestens 50 ECTS .

Sprachvoraussetzungen

  • Falls Ihre Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist, müssen Sie ausreichende Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache auf dem Niveau C1 nachweisen.
  • Für die Wahl des Studienschwerpunkts „Ägyptologie“ sind Sprachkenntnisse des Mittelägyptischen im Umfang von wenigstens 12 C, für die Wahl des Studienschwerpunkts „Koptologie“ Sprachkenntnisse des Sahidischen im Umfang von wenigstens 12 C nachzuweisen.
  • Grundsätzlich ist es für das Studium der Ägyptologie und Koptologie von großem Vorteil, wenn Sie bereits Englisch und Französisch lesen können. Diese und weitere Sprachkenntnisse, beispielsweise Grundkenntnisse des Altgriechischen für Koptolog*innen, können Sie jedoch auch während des Studiums an der Universität erwerben, die dafür ein breites Angebot an Kursen bereithält. Aktuelle Informationen dazu gibt die Homepage der Zentralen Einrichtung für Sprachen und Schlüsselqualifikationen „ZESS“ .

Einblicke

Interviews


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Prof. Dr. Heike Behlmer

Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 551 39 29420
Fax. +49 551 39 29332

hbehlme@uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Fragen zur Bewerbung

Snezana Weber M.A.

Humboldtallee 17
Room 1.110 (1. Stock)
DE-37073 Göttingen

Tel: +49 (0)551 39 26717
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

Email: master.koordination@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage