Traveling to, arriving in and living in Göttingen

Traveling to and arrival in Göttingen

Göttingen, a city of 130,000 inhabitants of which over 31,000 are students, has a young and lively character which thrives against the backdrop of the historical old town and half-timbered architecture hearkening back to the city’s roots in the Middle Ages.

All new arrivals to Göttingen must register in person at the Residents’ Registration Office (Einwohnermeldamt) within 14 days of arrival. This is required by law. You will need an appointment for this, which you can make online on the City of Göttingen website.

To register, you will need a valid form of identification such as your passport and confirmation of accommodation Wohnungsgeberbestätigung. If you are living in a student residence hall run by Studentenwerk Göttingen, this document will be given to you by the residence hall administration. For all other types of rental accommodation, you will receive this document from the person renting the room to you. This may be a housing management representative, the landlord/landlady (the lessor), the main tenant, or, if applicable, a person authorised by the lessor.

Please keep your registration certificate in a safe place with other important documents as you will need it to apply for your residence permit or to open a German bank account, among other things.

If you later move houses, even if it is still within Göttingen, you must notify the city of Göttingen within 14 days.

EU/EEA citizens:

International students from EU/EEA countries need neither a visa nor a residence permit to stay in Göttingen for their studies.

Non-EU/EEA citizens:

International students from non-EU/EEA countries must submit an application for a residence permit before expiration of their visa, and no later than 90 days after entry. This is regardless of whether they entered Göttingen with or without a visa. The application is submitted to the Immigration Office (Ausländersbehörde).

In Germany you will need a bank account for all financial matters. For example, if you work while you are studying (in Germany, it is called “jobben”), your salary will be transferred to your bank account – you will not be paid directly in cash.

With your bank account, you will receive an EC card which you can use to withdraw cash from ATMs. You can also transfer funds or use SEPA direct debit. This means that you can set up regular payments such as your rent or internet service and mobile phone charges to be automatically debited from your account each month. You can also use your EC card to pay in shops. You can use credit cards in most shops in Germany, but they are less common than paying with an EC card.

To open a bank account, you will need a valid form of identification such as a passport along with your registration certificate from the city.

Along with health insurance, there are two other important types of insurance in Germany that we recommend: private liability insurance and household insurance. Both protect you in situations that can occur frequently and can quickly result in large financial losses.

There are many offers to help you with the start of your studies. The Introductory Week provides you with an overview of the platforms you need to organise your studies, familiarise you with the University and the city of Göttingen. The Incoming Office will show you around the campus and your faculty and even introduce you to some leisure activities. Registration is required for some offers. This can be done online.

Students who would like to be met at the train station when they arrive in Göttingen and accompanied by a fellow student to their flat in Göttingen can register for our Buddy Service.

Students who would like support and assistance during the orientation phase at the University of Göttingen can register for the “Study Buddy Programme”.

The first steps are always the most daunting – even at a University. On the following pages you will learn a lot about getting yourself organised as a student.

Living in Göttingen

Financial stability is an essential part of your stay. When you apply for a visa (and later your residence permit), you must prove that you have enough funds to pay for your stay in Germany and your studies, at least for the first 12 months of your stay. Typically, this means that you deposit a sum of €10,256 (as of 01 January 2020) into a blocked account (Sperrkonto). Although this account belongs to you, you will only be able to access it once a month to withdraw a fixed amount and the account cannot be used for any other purpose. As a baseline for cost of living in Göttingen, you should budget at least 650 to 750 euros a month.

For many students in Germany, it is normal to work part-time while studying. International students are also allowed to work in Germany. However, the labour laws in Germany limit the number of hours that international students are allowed to work. According to the rule, you must devote the majority of your time to your studies. With the following link we have compiled the most important basic information on working in Germany as a student:

Usually, there is no tuition charged to international students to study in Germany; there is only a standard semester fee. However, as a result, there are fewer scholarships available in Germany, and none that are offered by the universities directly. Moreover, students can typically only apply for these scholarships after they have already begun their studies. Nevertheless, it can be worthwhile to find out about possible scholarships as soon as possible.

The most important is to stay healthy, because that is fundamental for everything! Should you nevertheless need medical help, you will find helpful information here:

You will soon discover that almost everyone in Göttingen has a bicycle. As this is the cheapest, most comfortable, as well as environmentally friendly means of transportation, it is certainly a worthwhile investment. You can get almost anywhere in Göttingen in less than 15 minutes by bicycle.

Good language skills open up opportunities for you to get to know the country and its people, to successfully design your studies and to build up professional networks. On the other hand a lack of language skills may lead to considerable problems and delays in studies.

BARRIER-FREE STUDYING

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY AND ANTI-DISCRIMINATION

OTHER ADVICE AND INFORMATION CENTRES

GOOD SCIENTIFIC PRACTICE, PROBLEMS WITH SUPERVISION

Good scientific practice is the basis for scientific knowledge. For this reason, the University has established a code of good scientific practice, which you as doctoral students and (prospective) scientists* have committed yourself to adhere to. The graduate schools regularly offer courses on good scientific practice and advise on questions of good scientific practice and scientific misconduct or if you have problems with your supervisor.


GRADUATE SCHOOLS

The Graduate Schools can advise you regarding questions outside your field of study, financing options, questions concerning the mentoring relationship - and in some cases also with the application for acceptance as a doctoral candidate. They are your first point of contact in all matters relating to doctoral studies and will be happy to help you.

After completing your studies in Germany and you are a non-EU/EEA citizen, you can remain in the country up to 18 months as a university graduate to find a job that matches your qualifications.

Leaving Göttingen

Have you successfully completed your studies and are getting ready to leave Germany?

Before you leave, there are a number of things to be taken care of. Our checklist is intended to help you prepare:



Contact:

The International Office
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Personal Office Hours:
Mon and Wed 10-12 h

Hotline-International students and applicants


+49 551/39 27777


Calling Hours:
Mon - Fri 9 - 12 h

Contact


Map


Find us on Facebook

Anreise, Ankunft und Leben in Göttingen

Anreise und Ankunft in Göttingen

Göttingen hat rd. 130.000 Einwohner. Allein rd. 31.000 davon sind Studierende, die der Stadt eine junge und lebhafte Prägung geben. Diese verbindet sich mit Göttingens langer und reicher Geschichte: Ihre Wurzeln reichen ins Mittelalter zurück, das bis heute die historische Altstadt und ihre Fachwerkarchitektur prägt.

Innerhalb von 14 Tagen nach Ihrer Ankunft in Göttingen müssen Sie sich persönlich beim Einwohnermeldeamt anmelden. Dies ist gesetzlich vorgeschrieben. Hierfür benötigen Sie einen Termin, den Sie online über die Website der Stadt Göttingen vereinbaren können.

Für die Anmeldung benötigen Sie Ihren Ausweis/Reisepass und eine Wohnungsgeberbestätigung. Wenn Sie in einem Studentenwohnheim des Studentenwerks Göttingen wohnen, wird Ihnen dieses Formular von der Wohnheimverwaltung ausgehändigt. Bei allen anderen Mietverhältnissen bekommen Sie diese Bescheinigung von der vermietenden Person. Diese Person kann ein Beauftragter der Hausverwaltung, der Vermieter/die Vermieterin, der Hauptmieter/die Hauptmieterin, ggfs. eine von diesen bevollmächtige Person sein.

Bitte bewahren Sie die Meldebescheinigung gut in Ihren Unterlagen auf, da diese unter anderem für die Beantragung der Aufenthaltsgenehmigung oder für die Eröffnung eines deutschen Bankkontos notwendig sein wird.

Auch wenn Sie zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt innerhalb Göttingens umziehen, müssen Sie dies der Stadt Göttingen innerhalb von 14 Tagen mitteilen.

EU/EWR-Bürger*nnen:

Internationale Studierende aus EU/EWR-Staaten brauchen für Ihren Studienaufenthalt in Göttingen weder ein Visum noch eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung.

Nicht-EU/EWR-Bürger*nnen:

Internationale Studierende aus Nicht-EU/EWR-Staaten müssen vor Ablauf ihres Visums, spätestens jedoch innerhalb von 90 Tagen nach Einreise einen Antrag auf Erteilung eines Aufenthaltstitels stellen– unabhängig davon, ob sie mit oder ohne Visum eingereist sind. Den Antrag stellen Sie bei der Ausländerbehörde.

In Deutschland brauchen Sie für alle finanziellen Angelegenheiten ein Bankkonto. Wenn Sie z.B. neben Ihrem Studium arbeiten (in Deutschland auch „jobben“ genannt) wird Ihr Lohn auf ein Konto überwiesen – Sie bekommen es nicht bar ausgezahlt.

Mit dem Bankkonto erhalten Sie eine EC-Karte, mit der Sie Bargeld vom Automaten (ATM) abheben können. Sie können Überweisungen vornehmen oder am SEPA-Lastschriftverfahren teilnehmen. Das bedeutet, dass Sie regelmäßige Zahlungen, z.B. Ihre Miete oder Zahlungen für Internet und Mobilfunk, automatisch monatlich von Ihrem Konto abbuchen lassen können. Außerdem können Sie mit der EC-Karte auch in Geschäften bezahlen. Die Nutzung von Kreditkarten ist in Deutschland in den meisten Geschäften möglich, aber weniger üblich als die Zahlung mit der EC-Karte.

Für die Eröffnung eines Bankkontos benötigen Sie einen gültigen Ausweis oder Reisepass sowie die Meldebescheinigung der Stadt.

Neben der Krankenversicherung gibt es in Deutschland noch zwei weitere wichtige Versicherungen, die wir Ihnen empfehlen: Die private Haftpflichtversicherung und die Hausratversicherung. Beide decken Schadensfälle, die häufiger vorkommen und schnell hohe Kosten verursachen können.

Viele Angebote unterstützen Sie beim Start ins Studium. Die Einführungswoche führt in die Plattformen ein, die Sie für die Organisation Ihres Studiums brauchen, und macht Sie auch mit der Universität und der Stadt Göttingen vertraut. Das Team des Incoming Office zeigt Ihnen den Campus und Ihre Fakultäten und stellt Freizeitangebote vor. Für einige Angebote ist eine Anmeldung erforderlich. Diese erfolgt online.

Studierende, die bei ihrer Ankunft in Göttingen vom Bahnhof abgeholt und zu Ihrer Wohnung begleitet werden möchten, haben die Möglichkeit, unseren Buddy Service in Anspruch zu nehmen.

Studierende, die während der Orientierungsphase an der Universität Göttingen Hilfe und Unterstützung erhalten möchten, können sich beim „Study Buddy-Programm" (Fachpartnerschaftsprogramm) anmelden.

Die ersten Schritte sind immer die schwierigsten – selbst an einer Universität. Auf den folgenden Seiten erfahren Sie einiges zur Selbst-Organisation als Studierender.

Leben in Göttingen

Die Sicherstellung der Finanzierung Ihres Studiums ist von wesentlicher Bedeutung. Wenn Sie ein Visum (und später Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis) beantragen, müssen Sie nachweisen, dass Sie die Kosten Ihres Studiums und des Lebenshalts in Deutschland mindestens für die ersten 12 Monate Ihres Aufenthalts decken können. Sie müssen dazu eine Summe von 10.256€ (Stand 01.01.2020) nachweisen, in der Regel als Barguthaben auf einem Sperrkonto. Für den Lebensunterhalt in Göttingen sollten Sie ein Budget von mindestens 650 bis 750 Euro im Monat vorsehen.

Für viele Studierende in Deutschland ist es normal, neben dem Studium in Teilzeit zu arbeiten. Auch internationalen Studierenden ist es erlaubt, in Deutschland zu arbeiten. Aufgrund der arbeitsrechtlichen Bestimmungen in Deutschland ist jedoch die Anzahl der Stunden, die ausländische Studierende arbeiten dürfen, beschränkt. Es gilt: Den überwiegenden Teil Ihrer Zeit müssen Sie dem Studium widmen.

Das Hochschulstudium in Deutschland ist für internationale Studierende in der Regel gebührenfrei; nur Solidaritätsbeiträge müssen gezahlt werden. In der Folge gibt es in Deutschland aber auch weniger Stipendien, insbesondere keine, die von den Universitäten selbst angeboten werden. Auf die wenigen verfügbaren Stipendien können sich Studierende zudem in der Regel erst dann bewerben, wenn sie das Studium aufgenommen haben. Dennoch kann es sich lohnen, sich frühzeitig über mögliche Stipendien zu informieren.

Das wichtigste ist, dass Sie gesund bleiben, denn das ist die Basis für alles! Sollten Sie dennoch einmal ärztliche Hilfe benötigen, finden Sie hier hilfreiche Informationen:

Sie werden recht bald feststellen, dass scheinbar jeder in Göttingen ein Fahrrad hat. Da dies das günstigste, bequemste und zudem ein umweltfreundliches Fortbewegungsmittel ist, ist dies sicherlich eine gute Anschaffung. Sie können in Göttingen fast jeden Ort innerhalb von 15 Minuten mit dem Fahrrad erreichen.

Gute Sprachkenntnisse eröffnen Ihnen Möglichkeiten, Land und Leute kennenzulernen, Ihr Studium erfolgreich zu gestalten und professionelle Netzwerke aufzubauen. Mangelnde Sprachkenntnisse führen dagegen zu erheblichen Problemen und Verzögerungen des Studiums.

Um sich einen guten Ausgleich zum Studium zu schaffen, ist es wichtig seinen weiteren Interessen nachzugehen. Ein umfangreiches Angebot an Freizeitmöglichkeiten finden Sie an der Universität, sowie in Göttingen selber:

BARRIEREFREIES STUDIUM

GLEICHSTELLUNG UND ANTIDISKRIMINIERUNG

WEITERE BERATUNGS- UND INFORMATIONSSTELLEN

Nach dem Abschluss Ihres Studiums in Deutschland können Sie als Hochschulabsolvent*in aus einem Nicht-EU/EWR Land für bis zu 18 Monate im Land bleiben, um eine zu Ihrer Qualifikation passende Arbeitsstelle zu finden.



Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Persönliche Sprechstunden
(finden zur Zeit nicht statt!)
Mo und Mi 10-12 Uhr

Hotline-Internationale Studierende und Bewerber*innen

+49 551/39 27777


Telefonische Sprechstunden:
Mo - Fr 9 - 12 Uhr

Kontakt


Lageplan


Find us on Facebook